German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I had this just once before when a friend made it for breakfast - loved it. So I was happy to see this recipe. I made it exactly as written since I had no experience making it. It puffed up nicely and looked great, however it was a good thing I read the reviews first. Some wrote that the cooking time should be 20 minutes, I baked it for 30 minutes and that was too long. The bottom was rather dry and stuck to my pan. Other than that, both my husband and I enjoyed it. Will make again, with a few changes of course. Also, the recipe asks for a "medium" baking pan - I was going to use an 8x8 pan but again, a reviewer suggested 9x13 - thank you so much for that, it would not have turned out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ramore, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I have been making these for years and there is nothing German about them. I have a cousin, who totally thought it was Dutch pancakes. but whoever, whatever, they look pretty and are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
After cooking, give it a squeeze of juice of a lemon and sprinkle with powdered sugar....so good, you may want to skip the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is one of my families favorite breakfast meals and something I had never tried until I got married and my mother-in-law made it for me! How I lived for 23 years without it I'll never know. ;o) The only change I make is I use 1/3 cup butter because we like the buttery taste when we smother it in syrup. It's a very versatile dish and is great with sauteed apples and cinnamon or fresh fruit. Definitely one to try and keep on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is a recipe for Yorkshire Pudding. No? Tastes good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was AMAZING!! I'll never eat a regular pancake again! I halved the recipe and took some other reviewers advice adding 1/4 cup of sugar and a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg. Also, I cut up and sautéed some fresh strawberries for syrup, which was perfect! Next I will make it without the sugar and sautee some sausage, onions, and peppers for the filling for a more savory breakfast. Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Hobson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Great receipe, but my grandma did these on the stove. In a skillet heat up a couple tablespoons of oil & a little butter, and pour pancake size and fry. They are crispy on the edges and are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I was given this recipe by a friend who called it Dutch babies. It is a real treat for my family. Delicious. German pancakes is a much more humane sounding name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reactionary1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made this for breakfast yesterday. The kids loved it. I was a bit skeptical having a picky eater but yet she really enjoyed it. Very easy, very good. I did also add the sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. This will definately be a keeper! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcee
Home Town: Iron River, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I have been making this for a few years and slice a banana on top before baking!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States