German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Quick, easy and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
The whole family enjoys this. The kids love to see it puff up in the oven. You can cook it on a temp up to 400 degrees and cut the cook time to 20-25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
this is just like my aunt's recipe, except she sprinkled nutmeg on top as well. If you make it in a blender it's easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
very easy hot breakfast in a busy family life. The kids ate it all up. lots of syrup. I recommend adding powdered sugar sprinkled on top. Any kind of jam works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is so YUMMY I'm going to have to double the recipe! Delicious and beautiful! Even my little ones ate it and that is saying a lot! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Very interesting...with mixed reviews. Not what I was expecting (not that that is a bad thing). I sprinkled some nutmeg on the top (before cooking), which we all liked. They have a custardy texture, but aren't sweet. I think if I were to make these again, I might experiment with adding sugar to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
These were great! I was able to get two large pancakes out of this recipe. Per other recommendations I added nutmeg, in this case allspice, and about 4 tablespoons of sugar, and 1 tsp of vanilla extract. It improved the flavor greatly. I also had enough to make another one this morning. I refrigerated the batter and set it out while the oven preheated. The result was beautifully brown and fluffy pancake. For syrup I used lemon wedges, powdered sugar and some butter. Viola! Fantastic!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
My husband loves german pancakes, he thought these were just ok. I liked them, but it was a bit eggy. We squeezed lemon juice and sprinkled powdered sugar on top. If I make this again, maybe I'll reduce the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
My mother used to make a similar recipe, and she baked it in two metal cake pans. So I divided the butter and the batter in half and made two round pancakes, and they tasted great. I baked at 375 degrees for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I'd give this ten stars if it was possible. I am the worst pancake maker. I usually burn them, or the other extreme, are under cooked. These are so easy! No flipping, no guessing if they are done, no smoking up your kitchen. Just pour the batter in the pan and 40 minutes later, the most wonderful pancake that that tastes somewhat like a french toast without the bread. Enough to feed my husband, myself and my 2 kids (4 and 3) A definate keeper! Thanks Barb in BC canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States