German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
ADD VANILLA !!! This is THE best dessert breakfast anywhere !!! We use to make crepes every Sunday, but this is much easier and tastes even better !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Sunday breakfast perfect- simple to make, looks fancy, tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These are great served with powdered sugar and fresh squeezed lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
We've made these for years - but we've always served them with butter, powdered sugar and a squeeze of fresh meyer lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Interesting recipe....First, I will say that my husband, who is German, says he never had anything like this in his life and that the only German"pancakes" he knew of were the potato latkes that his mother and grandmother used to make. Having said that, I'll move on to the recipe which is so easy that it almost makes itself! I did add a bit of nutmeg after reading the other reviews and baked it in a large, ovenproof frying pan at 375 for 30 minutes. It is also quite impressive to watch while it bakes. My husband kept asking if I were sure that it wasn't a souffle. (I even took a pic when it was done to send to my daughter. ;-)) This recipe is pure comfort food but is light with a nearly creamy center shiny with melted butter. How bad could that be? (To paraphrase Ina Garten.....) I ate it with cherry preserves and it was delich. My husband added more butter (!!) and maple syrup. He said that it was good....nothing more; however, I plan the menus and loved it, so I will definitely be serving it again, especially on a weekend morning when I need to get breakfast on the table while multitasking various other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very good! Next time I'll add vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My husband grew up eating these! We call them Big Babies" or "Dutch babies". I serve them with fried apples. Just cut up apples in bite size pieces and fry in butter, with cinnamon and brown sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I served this to my kids when they were little. It is still a favorite today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
It's very good and easy to make. I am a tecture person so once I got past the thick sponguey egg texture I really enjoyed it. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon, 3 tsp of sugar and sprikled with icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuJuMum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My family has made this for years, only we call it either Wooden Shoes or Dutch Baby..and we use a higher temperature of 450f. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States