German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Can you say Yorkshire pudding for breakfast!. Taste and ingredients identical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Turned this gluten and dairy free by substituting GF all-purpose flour (add 1 tsp. zanthum gum) and almond milk. Added spices as recommended in other reviews. Yummy! Next time will add baking soda and use all 6 eggs (only used 4) to get more fluffiness as was dense because of GF substitutions. Family loved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Loved it! Did add the cinnamon and sugar and was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATALIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
So easy and tasty!! I read some of the other reviews and decided to add 2 tbsp of sugar, some cinnamon, 1 tsp of vanilla, and only used 2 eggs...I cut them in squares and had them with a side of syrup to dip in... My 11 year old son loved this! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Our family has been making this recipe for years. We love it with sausage links, and add either applesauce, slightly sweetened with brown sugar and nutmeg-cinnamon added, or apple pie filling (I bottle my own). Both make a delicious topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My family has been eating this since I was a baby. I add vanilla and a dash of cinnamon. Yummy with jam and whipped cream or maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smithchelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Nostalgia overwhelmed me as I read the reviews ahead. In my early days, pursuing what was to be my lifetime profession, I worked the "Morning Table" in the kitchen of the world famous Kadinsky Restaurant in the "Steinenberger Kurhaus Hotel" in The Hague and one of my tasks was to gather the discarded vanilla pods from the Pastry Chef and then add them to a sugar bin, labelled "For the Babies". The babies of course was the name given to the pancake, made very much like the one we are reviewing here. So I have now made this recipe, with the only addition being two tablespoons of vanilla sugar from my own home bin. I made a couple of heat and position adjustments but did not alter the body of the recipe. Turned out great. At The Kandisky, if memory serves me, the Babies were served with a sweet Dutch Chocolate and fresh fruit (usually rasberry) topping, and being Holland and breakfast, it was often presented along with coddled eggs. The hotel's Silver Tray tradition. Good recipe.Tip: After scraping seeds from Vanilla Bean for custards etc, keep the pod(s) in an airtight jar with granulated sugar, for many uses and flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
ADD VANILLA !!! This is THE best dessert breakfast anywhere !!! We use to make crepes every Sunday, but this is much easier and tastes even better !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Sunday breakfast perfect- simple to make, looks fancy, tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These are great served with powdered sugar and fresh squeezed lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States