German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is the one thing my German father remembers from the old country, he makes them in a skillet with cut apples on top, then sprinkles regular sugar on them...we never missed dads meal and never had leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I had this just once before when a friend made it for breakfast - loved it. So I was happy to see this recipe. I made it exactly as written since I had no experience making it. It puffed up nicely and looked great, however it was a good thing I read the reviews first. Some wrote that the cooking time should be 20 minutes, I baked it for 30 minutes and that was too long. The bottom was rather dry and stuck to my pan. Other than that, both my husband and I enjoyed it. Will make again, with a few changes of course. Also, the recipe asks for a "medium" baking pan - I was going to use an 8x8 pan but again, a reviewer suggested 9x13 - thank you so much for that, it would not have turned out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ramore, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I have been making these for years and there is nothing German about them. I have a cousin, who totally thought it was Dutch pancakes. but whoever, whatever, they look pretty and are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
After cooking, give it a squeeze of juice of a lemon and sprinkle with powdered sugar....so good, you may want to skip the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is one of my families favorite breakfast meals and something I had never tried until I got married and my mother-in-law made it for me! How I lived for 23 years without it I'll never know. ;o) The only change I make is I use 1/3 cup butter because we like the buttery taste when we smother it in syrup. It's a very versatile dish and is great with sauteed apples and cinnamon or fresh fruit. Definitely one to try and keep on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is a recipe for Yorkshire Pudding. No? Tastes good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was AMAZING!! I'll never eat a regular pancake again! I halved the recipe and took some other reviewers advice adding 1/4 cup of sugar and a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg. Also, I cut up and sautéed some fresh strawberries for syrup, which was perfect! Next I will make it without the sugar and sautee some sausage, onions, and peppers for the filling for a more savory breakfast. Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Great receipe, but my grandma did these on the stove. In a skillet heat up a couple tablespoons of oil & a little butter, and pour pancake size and fry. They are crispy on the edges and are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I was given this recipe by a friend who called it Dutch babies. It is a real treat for my family. Delicious. German pancakes is a much more humane sounding name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reactionary1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made this for breakfast yesterday. The kids loved it. I was a bit skeptical having a picky eater but yet she really enjoyed it. Very easy, very good. I did also add the sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. This will definately be a keeper! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcee
Home Town: Iron River, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States