German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was good. Different than our normal "routine" breakfasts. The kids thought it was neat and ate it like a pizza. I added sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg and then sprinkled lemon juice and powdered sugar on top. No need for syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara McCleskey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is an excellent easy recipe. Very good with lemon squeezed on it with powdered sugar sprinkled over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was the first time I ever made something like this and it turned out really good my kids loved it with maple syrup and a sprinkle of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplerain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was a fabulous breakfast dish. Due to living in high altitudes added in an extra teaspoon flour. Dusted with powder sugar before eating it. Will definitely make this dish again and will add fresh fruit in the middle of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppypaws

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Really good recipe! I cut the recipe in half and make it in a 10-inch pie pan. For the half-recipe, I use 2 eggs instead of 3 and less butter than is called for. I butter the pie pan and add a bit of melted butter into the batter. I followed other commenters' advice and added a bit of sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. I think part of what makes this recipe really good is that it's fairly flexible. You can introduce a few variations, and it always turns out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CroqueMadame

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was so good! I added a tsp of Baking Soda to help with the rise and poured into the butter while it was hot. PERFECT! I can see this being used as a dessert: Add some fresh fruit in the middle with whipped cream. (I would add some sugar to the batter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
VERY dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Yumm-o! Going into my regular rotation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I thought this was a quick and easy alternative to normal breakfast. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added some cinnamon, sugar and vanilla extract as well as mashed banana. It was a winner! The only thing I would do next time is double the batch to make the batter thicker. It comes out very thin in a 9x13 dish. I think adding apple instead of banana would also make it very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belleview, Florida, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I followed some others suggestions and added a teaspoon each of cinnamon and vanilla, a pinch of nutmeg and 3 T sugar. Baked in a well seasoned, preheated cast iron skillet at 450 for 20 min. It came out of the oven HUGE, but then fell. Squeezed the juice of 1 lemon on top and sprinkled with powdered sugar. Did not need anything else. It was wonderful and my wife loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States