German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I love this recipe! If you are like me and a crepe is not enough but a pancake or a waffle is too heavy this is the breakfast you have been waiting for. I will be using this one very often! I would suggest making your own buttermilk syrup to go with them, you can find the recipe for that in some of the other German Pancake recipes. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the pancake mix. I also paired these with scrambled eggs with cheese and fried SPAM. If you don't eat fried SPAM on a regular basis you are probably doing your health a favor but your mouth is missing out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthieu Duquette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
German Pancakes have been a favorite except we always use powdered sugar and fresh squeezed lemon juice instead of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is sooo good. My husband and I enjoy it sprinkled with powdered sugar and drizzled with lemon-butter. I also make it with less flour, about 1/3C. Oh how I wish he would wait to start that diet! It would be supper tonight with bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shallowater, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
So yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I make this every Christmas for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOP GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Wasn't bad, but probably won't make again. It was extremely eggy ... I think I was expecting something a little different. When baked, there was thick "marbling" of egg throughout ... kind of quiche like in some ways. I tried mine with maple syrup, which made it better, but this recipe just wasn't for me. I gave it 4 stars because it came out well, I believe, just wasn't my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
i find these pancakes very shallow and pandantic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
it wasn't light or fluffy... it was almost custard like... German Pancakes should melt in your mouth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie™

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I've made this for years and it is simply delish! You can make it in a round pan or even a rimmed cookie sheet. You can butter the dish or spray w/Pam. I never do the melted butter. HOWEVER, we serve it w/melted butter and powdered sugar (sometimes a lemon wedge as well, depending on the mood), foregoing the syrup entirely. We find that too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
An easy and good recipe. Served with powdered sugar and syrup. A great alternative to traditional pancakes. Came out very pretty and interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States