German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very good with syrup and Powdered sugar. Feel like it could have more flavor though. Not sure what can be changed though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
It was yummy. Like other reviewers suggested I added the cinnamon, sugar, and vanilla. Then I topped with the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Fantastic. Used a quiche pan and baked it at 400 for 25 minutes so it was pretty and delicious! Even my picky grandson like it. I always saute fruit (apple and/or pears are good) in butter, added maple syrup and pour it in the middle of the pancake when the pancake is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
We just had these for breakfast and loved them. I added 1 tsp vanilla to the pancake mix. Out of the over i sprinkled with cinnamon and powdered sugar. I also topped with and apple topping I often use for french toast. 2tbsp butter, 1/2c brown sugar,1 tsp cinnamon melted in fry pan, add 3 sliced apples with 1/3 c water, simmer for 8-10 minute. Delicious!!! This base pancake will lend itself for all kinds of wonderful toppings. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made 2 pans. One pan as written and one with the additions of van., sugar, cinn.,nutmeg. They were both just ok. Used a blender, 400 for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
These are the best German Pancakes I have ever had. Good work, they were delicious (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastrychefsam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is the recipe for the German pancakes I remember my mom making for me as a child. My family tradition is to top each pancake with lemon juice and powdered sugar. My mom always used a 9X13 pan if you're wondering what size to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This recipe really needs to specify a pan size other than "medium," which is completely subjective. I used what was to me a "medium" round baking dish and ended up with an inch of rubber in the middle because it was too thick. I gave it four stars because I think it would have been perfect if I had used a large (bigger than 9x13") rectangular baking dish instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I love this recipe! If you are like me and a crepe is not enough but a pancake or a waffle is too heavy this is the breakfast you have been waiting for. I will be using this one very often! I would suggest making your own buttermilk syrup to go with them, you can find the recipe for that in some of the other German Pancake recipes. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the pancake mix. I also paired these with scrambled eggs with cheese and fried SPAM. If you don't eat fried SPAM on a regular basis you are probably doing your health a favor but your mouth is missing out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthieu Duquette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
German Pancakes have been a favorite except we always use powdered sugar and fresh squeezed lemon juice instead of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States