German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
So easy and tasty!! I read some of the other reviews and decided to add 2 tbsp of sugar, some cinnamon, 1 tsp of vanilla, and only used 2 eggs...I cut them in squares and had them with a side of syrup to dip in... My 11 year old son loved this! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Our family has been making this recipe for years. We love it with sausage links, and add either applesauce, slightly sweetened with brown sugar and nutmeg-cinnamon added, or apple pie filling (I bottle my own). Both make a delicious topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My family has been eating this since I was a baby. I add vanilla and a dash of cinnamon. Yummy with jam and whipped cream or maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smithchelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Nostalgia overwhelmed me as I read the reviews ahead. In my early days, pursuing what was to be my lifetime profession, I worked the "Morning Table" in the kitchen of the world famous Kadinsky Restaurant in the "Steinenberger Kurhaus Hotel" in The Hague and one of my tasks was to gather the discarded vanilla pods from the Pastry Chef and then add them to a sugar bin, labelled "For the Babies". The babies of course was the name given to the pancake, made very much like the one we are reviewing here. So I have now made this recipe, with the only addition being two tablespoons of vanilla sugar from my own home bin. I made a couple of heat and position adjustments but did not alter the body of the recipe. Turned out great. At The Kandisky, if memory serves me, the Babies were served with a sweet Dutch Chocolate and fresh fruit (usually rasberry) topping, and being Holland and breakfast, it was often presented along with coddled eggs. The hotel's Silver Tray tradition. Good recipe.Tip: After scraping seeds from Vanilla Bean for custards etc, keep the pod(s) in an airtight jar with granulated sugar, for many uses and flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
ADD VANILLA !!! This is THE best dessert breakfast anywhere !!! We use to make crepes every Sunday, but this is much easier and tastes even better !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Sunday breakfast perfect- simple to make, looks fancy, tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These are great served with powdered sugar and fresh squeezed lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
We've made these for years - but we've always served them with butter, powdered sugar and a squeeze of fresh meyer lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Interesting recipe....First, I will say that my husband, who is German, says he never had anything like this in his life and that the only German"pancakes" he knew of were the potato latkes that his mother and grandmother used to make. Having said that, I'll move on to the recipe which is so easy that it almost makes itself! I did add a bit of nutmeg after reading the other reviews and baked it in a large, ovenproof frying pan at 375 for 30 minutes. It is also quite impressive to watch while it bakes. My husband kept asking if I were sure that it wasn't a souffle. (I even took a pic when it was done to send to my daughter. ;-)) This recipe is pure comfort food but is light with a nearly creamy center shiny with melted butter. How bad could that be? (To paraphrase Ina Garten.....) I ate it with cherry preserves and it was delich. My husband added more butter (!!) and maple syrup. He said that it was good....nothing more; however, I plan the menus and loved it, so I will definitely be serving it again, especially on a weekend morning when I need to get breakfast on the table while multitasking various other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very good! Next time I'll add vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States