German Marble Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This recipe was very tasty!!! My boyfriend loved it with a scoop of ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rush City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This cake is absolutely delicious! It has the perfect texture and rises beautifully. I substitute Grand Marnier (orange liquer) for the rum, and it tastes exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This is a very good recipe. For the lady that thought the cake was to dry and needed frosting.....Germans do not use frostings. I am German and when i moved here i lost my recipe and it was to late to call my mom so i looked this webpage up and tryed the recipe,....and i have to say it was very very good....it now is in my owne recipe book and i make it at least once a week.All my friends love it and they like that it is easy and is not so sweet as they are used to with american cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I make this recipe all the time with a few changes. I tend to add more cocoa and almond extract, and use less sugar. The cake is dry for Americans, but German cakes tend to be drier and more like a sweet bread than like American cakes. I also only bake mine for 50 minutes which helps it not dry out as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Loved this cake! Just like my great aunt from Germany made for me when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink ski-doo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Portland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Bf asked for marble cake for his bday, so I went looking and found this one. I followed the recipe except added whipped cream cheese frosting--I had a 1/2 tub and bf loves his frosting. I'm not a frosting fan, so I wouldn't have added it, but it's not my birthday! I did 2 layers of each type of batter and it worked out well in the pan. I don't think I swirled it enough, so it wouldve looked weird otherwise. I just baked it until the toothpick came clean, about 65 min. Served with ice cream and boyfriend loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this cake for my dad's 79th birthday and made a sauce that is part of a recipe for Custard Bread Pudding (elsewhere on the website), substituting Frangelico for 1/2 of water in the recipe. The sauce and the cake were a big hit and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is exact the mix i us wen i bake that Cake,but i dont weight anythings.i just put everything in a bowl ans mix it.But i us Vanillaextract,a dash of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Love this recipe, cake turned out moist and delicious. Great with coffee. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
It raised very well. It was soft, tasted pleasantly. I topped with white glaze and sparkled with slices of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States