German Marble Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
I liked the cake very much, but I did add a thin glaze with almonds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
Really Tasty Not too hard to make though it does take a little time. Worth the effort though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This recipe was very tasty!!! My boyfriend loved it with a scoop of ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rush City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
This cake was not worth it .It was too dry and there was too much cocoa .There also needs to be frosting added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This cake is absolutely delicious! It has the perfect texture and rises beautifully. I substitute Grand Marnier (orange liquer) for the rum, and it tastes exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
This cake tastes and looks good. According to my German husband, his mom's recipe is to whip egg white and yolk separetely so that the cake gets more fluffy. I will try it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akiko Ono

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This is a very good recipe. For the lady that thought the cake was to dry and needed frosting.....Germans do not use frostings. I am German and when i moved here i lost my recipe and it was to late to call my mom so i looked this webpage up and tryed the recipe,....and i have to say it was very very good....it now is in my owne recipe book and i make it at least once a week.All my friends love it and they like that it is easy and is not so sweet as they are used to with american cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I'll have to add to the negative reviews.. I made this cake last night, made sure to follow the recipe fully and BLA! I really think the quantity of the almond extract should be reduced. The cake was wayyy too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I'm American but have been living in Germany for 12 years. Actually, German marble cake tends to be drier than the American version. But since I prefer my cakes moister, I just add a package of instant vanilla pudding to the flour! It works wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I make this recipe all the time with a few changes. I tend to add more cocoa and almond extract, and use less sugar. The cake is dry for Americans, but German cakes tend to be drier and more like a sweet bread than like American cakes. I also only bake mine for 50 minutes which helps it not dry out as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States