German Marble Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
this was realy good ,i did add pudding.my 5 year old ate it everyday until gone.its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I was very disappointed in this marble cake. The chocolate section was not very rich and the whole cake tasted like a dense, dry pound cake. Maybe it's something I did wrong, but this recipe was nothing like the marble cake recipe I've used in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AzhiaShalott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Love this recipe, cake turned out moist and delicious. Great with coffee. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is exact the mix i us wen i bake that Cake,but i dont weight anythings.i just put everything in a bowl ans mix it.But i us Vanillaextract,a dash of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Followed the directions and this cake was very dry. I wouldn't make it again. I used a butter cream frosting which helped with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this cake for my dad's 79th birthday and made a sauce that is part of a recipe for Custard Bread Pudding (elsewhere on the website), substituting Frangelico for 1/2 of water in the recipe. The sauce and the cake were a big hit and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Bf asked for marble cake for his bday, so I went looking and found this one. I followed the recipe except added whipped cream cheese frosting--I had a 1/2 tub and bf loves his frosting. I'm not a frosting fan, so I wouldn't have added it, but it's not my birthday! I did 2 layers of each type of batter and it worked out well in the pan. I don't think I swirled it enough, so it wouldve looked weird otherwise. I just baked it until the toothpick came clean, about 65 min. Served with ice cream and boyfriend loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Loved this cake! Just like my great aunt from Germany made for me when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink ski-doo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Portland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I make this recipe all the time with a few changes. I tend to add more cocoa and almond extract, and use less sugar. The cake is dry for Americans, but German cakes tend to be drier and more like a sweet bread than like American cakes. I also only bake mine for 50 minutes which helps it not dry out as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I'm American but have been living in Germany for 12 years. Actually, German marble cake tends to be drier than the American version. But since I prefer my cakes moister, I just add a package of instant vanilla pudding to the flour! It works wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States