German Marble Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This cake is fantastic! I made it for a New Year's lunch I went to, and I hardly had any leftover :) Here are a few things that may be helpful: *As another reviewer suggested, I added a box of instant vanilla pudding to the batter. It was great! *The batter was thicker than cake batter I'm used to, so rather than trying to layer the light and dark I just put heaping spoonfuls of alternating colors around the bottom of my bundt pan and swirled the knife through once or twice. It came out really pretty! *The rum flavor comes through a little stronger than I expected! Not a bad thing, because I love rum, but if you aren't a big fan you might not want to put quite as much. Or maybe it's just the type I used (Appleton) If you're on the fence about making this cake, DO IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I have been looking for this recipe for a LONG long time! Every time i would go visit family in Germany my aunt always made this. My sister and I have been wanting this cake again for years but my grandmother (who is German as well) never made it. Thank you sooo much for putting this recipe on here. It is exactly the cake we had at my Aunts! I made it exactly as the recipe said and it came out perfect. I didn't need to bake it for 70 minutes, having it in for about 60 was perfect. I did separate the egg yolks from the egg whites and mixed them separately and it seemed very fluffy but I'm not sure of the difference as it was the same from when i had it in Germany. For the people who said the cake was very dry, this is how it was at my aunts. This cake was amazing and i will definitely be making this over and over again! I didn't need to add any vanilla pudding as others did or change anything and it wasn't dry. This is the perfect cake to have with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMama8710

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Really fabulous. I took another's suggestion and added a small box of vanilla pudding (removing equal part flour) and made for a moist and delicious cake. Hubby isn't a fan of almond, so left it out and didn't miss it. The rum is genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I love it especially with coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Interesting recipe. I took note from previous reviewers who said the cake was too dry. I substituted 1/2 cup of white sugar for light brown sugar, and left the white out of the last egg and used just the yolk. I also added 1/4 cup of mayo to balance that out. Incredibly moist, as a result. My version was a little more rum-flavored though; I took an extra step and added a rum glaze, and let it seep into the cake. The texture and flavor is just right. Also, it doesn't need to stay in the oven for a second over 50minutes. It's PERFECT. It's a great experimental recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I agree with previous reviews on the fact that the result is rather dry. Definitely tasty,but way too dry for our taste. Next time I'll make it, I'll try playing with the recipe a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
this is an amazing cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
The cake came out very well. My friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
It raised very well. It was soft, tasted pleasantly. I topped with white glaze and sparkled with slices of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
this was realy good ,i did add pudding.my 5 year old ate it everyday until gone.its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States