German Marble Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Great recipe! My family loved it! I think though the cocoa makes it a little dry even though I cooked it for 5 min less than the recipe called for. So the 2nd time i made it i added a small box of vanilla pudding(powder only) and that made it more moist. -my secret to making any cake more moist. Also I added a white icing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrbrown76
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Update. Made it again today, and properly creamed the butter, and added the almond extract this time. Reduced bake time to 60 minutes, and its amazing! When the butter is properly creamed, the cake is fluffier and rises higher. Great recipe, my sister didn't believe me when I told her that it was from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
goood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Delicious. Yes, it's dry, but it's really good. I added a box of instant pudding and it was still dry (maybe should have removed that amount of flour instead of just adding it). But it wasn't dry in an unpleasant way - it's just a dense and drier cake than most are used to in the US. I used Bailey's instead of rum and it was delicious. I don't normally like liquor in desserts, but it gave it an extra little subtle quick. I loved the almond extract with it, too. This was a big success when I brought it in to work. I took it out after 60 minutes because I could smell that it was done. Thanks for the recipe, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
A bit dry and heavy, but that's how home-made (as opposed to boxed) cakes are. Flavor is spot-on, so no complaints. Three thumbs UP!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gymmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was a good, decent, cake. But not great. I made this tonight for my family and added an almond glaze for the top. The cake itself was a little too light for my taste. I prefer a heavy cake. This was really easy to make though, which is always appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Turned out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This cake turned out great! I followed recipe except added a package of vanilla instant jello to make it moister, and didn't have rum so instead substituted kahlua. It was boyfriend's birthday and he loved it! I then made a whipped cream frosting with vanilla and almond extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was okay, but not great. VERY dry, and really not all that flavorful. I wouldn't make it again, but ... that said ... my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I would have to agree with a previous reviewer that it is not too sweet, also it calls for 70 min in the oven , it was too long the cake came out on the outside a very dark brown with a thick crust, the inside however was moist . Next time I'll reduce the bake time to one hr. Other then that it is a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States