German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dixie
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Based on previous reviews I added 3 extra cups of water. It turned out very thick and a bit bland so I served hot sauce and Worcestershire at the table. Next time I would add another cup or 2 of water and triple the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Great recipe. Followed as written except added a little bit more of spices noted in the recipe and about double the celery. Cooked in slow cooker on low for 7 hours. Used about 9 cups of chicken broth that I prepared (I.e. broth from 4 chicken legs cooked with 3 quarts of water with salt, pepper, and sage that I cooked while prepping the other veggies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I can't imagine anything I did wrong, because I'm certain I followed the recipe nearly exactly. It could just be a difference in taste and that this is a flavor I personally dislike. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made this with leftover Christmas ham. Excellent for a dreary December day. Like others it needs more liquid, I added beef stock because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
tasted great but, not really a "Soup" add extra broth or it will be thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
P.S. Great served over spaetzle or egg noodles! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I couldn't get my lentils soft in a slow cooker. I've had problems with beans too, so I don't think this is the recipes fault and I didn't deduct stars. I don't like caraway, so I didn't use it. I doubled the carrots cause that's my favorite part. I didn't have a ham hock or cubed ham, but I did have a 1.3lb smoked turkey leg. Amazing. I have turkey thighs smoked locally at Willie birds, so I am lucky to try that next time. Oh, I added 6 cups broth based on other reviewers. I like a thick lentil soup, and this was a little too loose for me. Next time I'll use 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I tried to make this for a dinner party since I was going to be gone all day. In 6 hours, everything had turned to mush in the crockpot. I wish I had read more reviews and not used the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Listen to what others have said, add additional liquid. I added a full box of chicken broth/stock(4cups), then filled it with water and added that water. Later on when lentils plumped it needed additional water(I also used a whole bag, 2.5 cups of lentils). I did not use caraway seed as I did not have it. Used semi-low sodium broth +1 on advice to use a low sodium version. Added 6 teaspoons Worcestershire Sauce. I always adjust recipes I make just slightly. Also added 2 cups potatoes. There's just not words how good this recipe is. If you really love lentils, this soup hits the spot. Better than I expected. The best soup I've made so far in my cooking journey. I can see myself defiantly making this again in the winter or maybe sooner. Really excellent flavor after melding all day together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
The recipe should have at least 3 times the amount of liquid stated (even for a slow cookier) since you need a 2 to 1 ratio even to just cook lentils. Anyway, I made this last night for dinner as I've been experimenting with caraway seeds lately. I feel that this recipe is a good solid base and would produce a tasty, warming soup as written. However, I did make the following changes to suit our tastes. We are vegetarian so I substituted vegetable broth (2 quarts) for the chicken stock, omitted the ham, but added 1 tsp. liquid smoke and 1 Tbs. dark brown sugar to add the smokey sweetness that the ham would have imparted to the soup. I doubled the vegetables, since we like lots of veggies, and doubled all of the spices except for the celery salt since we prefer more seasoned foods. I did not have celery salt so I just added 1/2 tsp. celery seed. (celery salt is just celery seed and salt anyway!) I cooked this on the stove instead of in a slow cooker and like most all stove top soups, I just added more water as necessary. It took about 1 hr. from start to finish. I served the soup with some home made whole wheat rolls. I think the soup tasted better today for lunch as it had time to develop the flavors as if I'd prepared it in a slow cooker. I will probably make this again sometime as I like to change up the seasonings in the different bean/lentil soups that I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States