German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I'm rating this a four due to the wonderful flavor, however, I'm giving it a three for the amount of liquid stated. I agree with others that three cups of broth is certainly not enough. I've been making lentil soup for many years and I know how quickly the lentils absorb the liquid. I made my own stock with a leftover carcass and had to keep added canned broth. I'm German, so the recipe title is what attracted me to view it and I really loved the caraway seed addition as it gave the soup a really nice flavor. In lieu of the parsley, I used kale and added more seasonings than stated. Very good recipe but please keep an eye on it. Thanks Claire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
I thought it was a little bland so I used kielbasa instead of ham and added a cup of crushed tomatoes and a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. Now that's a great lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
The recipe can easily be a 5 star recipe by simply adding a couple more cans of chicken broth. The recipe doesnt call for enough stock as written. I cooked it on the stove and it took about an hour or so. I used 4 cans of broth which created a very thick soup- it could have easily taken another can. The flavor is great however, and i do recommend it. One other thing, i might also use low sodium broth as it is a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
We enjoyed this soup although it does make a lot! If you have only a couple people cut the recipe in half and you will have plenty! I added about a cup of white wine and a couple chopped red potatoes to the stock pot while it simmered and it added a great touch! I used inexpensive deli ham and it worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This isn't a bad soup, and we'll finish every drop, BUT -- the instructions are wrong (I doubled the water and still got just a thick stew, not a soup), the cooking time is off (lentils were done at around 4 hours), and the flavor is fairly forgettable. Increasing the water makes the flavor more and more forgettable with every ounce of corrective fluid added. If I make this again, and I just might -- I will triple the fluid and triple the spices to go with it, leaving the lentils & veg at the same amount. I can't help wondering if the original recipe meant three QUARTS of stock since it specifies a 5-6 quart slow cooker. I doubled the liquid and still had a little room left over in my 3 quart slow cooker...Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Pretty good. I "veganized"it by ommiting the ham and using vegetarian "chicken" broth. I added a little more veggies, broth and seasonings than called for. I think next time i might try "beef" broth and a little red wine. But overall it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Yes, without a doubt you will have to add more liquid. Aside from that, I am also thinking that next time I will leave out the caraway seeds (if you're not a big fan, you just are not a big fan) and maybe add a bit more Worcestershire. I also like my lentils a bit saltier, so I salted my own bowl, but again, that's a personal preference, and I would rather under-salt so each person can add if they like. I'll keep this one and mark the caraway seeds as "optional".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I made this soup and then left the house for 4 hours. Luckily, I wasn't gone longer since the lentils had absorbed all of the liquid in the recipe by that time! ( There is nothing wrong with my crock pot and I did have it on the low setting. I ended up adding 4 additional cups of broth and the finished product was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I'm not fond of lentils myself, but the family liked it very well. Good way to use leftover easter ham. I nearly doubled the liquid. It would have been awfully thick otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
My husband and I loved this recipe - added more ham than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States