German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I had never made or had Lentil soup before. I was very pleased with this. Didn't give it 5 stars because I'm not sure what it was supposed to taste like - but overall it was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Mmm, mmm, good! I made it on the stovetop. Sauteed 2 garlic cloves (instead of the powder called for later), 1/2 a green pepper, 1/2 a red onion and the carrots (didn't use celery). Then added cubed chicken instead of ham. When the chicken was nearly cooked, I added the rest of the ingredients until the lentils were cooked. Very tasty! And the smell is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I've been making this lentil soup for a few years, and it's been perfect every time. I drop in a ham hock instead of cubed ham. Halfway through the cooking, I take the ham hock out, hack at it a bit to get some chunks of ham off, then put it all back in. I also don't have a slow cooker, so I just cook it slowly on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I didn't have ham, but that didn't seem to affect the end result as this was a very good soup. Smelled very good while it was simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This is a real keeper. I left out the caraway seed (I don't care for them) and used low sodium chicken stock. The whole family raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Wonderful flavor and easy to prepare. Great for a cold Saturday at home! Goes well with a spinach salad and whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I made this soup and then left the house for 4 hours. Luckily, I wasn't gone longer since the lentils had absorbed all of the liquid in the recipe by that time! ( There is nothing wrong with my crock pot and I did have it on the low setting. I ended up adding 4 additional cups of broth and the finished product was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Very good! Omitted the ham and used about twice the chicken broth called for, but those were the only changes. I've never cooked with caraway seed before, and never would have paired it with nutmeg. But we both loved the taste and will be fixing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Fantastic! I've made it three times in one month. I passed leftovers on the my brother and his wife and they loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Pretty good. I "veganized"it by ommiting the ham and using vegetarian "chicken" broth. I added a little more veggies, broth and seasonings than called for. I think next time i might try "beef" broth and a little red wine. But overall it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States