German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Nice flavor but way too thick. Not really a soup at all. I added at least 3 cups more broth than listed in the recipe based on reviews, and it was still too thick. My husband and kids didn't enjoy it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is actually a retraction of my other review that wasn't so favorable. I had to let the soup sit in the fridge for a day or two before eating it (crazy weekend) but when we ate it it was GREAT. Maybe this is one of those recipes that needs to rest for the flavors to be at their best. I think if I make this again I will make it the night before and let it rest all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Quick and easy and satisfying especially on a cold winter day. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I made this today and it was great! I forgot to add the Worcestershire sauce, didn't realize it until I came back to review and looked at the recipe. It would have added some extra zip and I would include it in the future. I also added quite a bit of crushed red pepper to make it a little hotter. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I have used this recipe for years. Everyone loves the rich vegetable stew feel. It is the perfect crock pot soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I added a can of Rotel spicy chopped tomatoes and added another cup of water, a couple of cut up potatos and everyone LOVED it! I will definately do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Quite tasty, though I made a few adjustments. I opted for the stovetop method due to time… and added 2 cups shredded cabbage, 1 c sliced crimini mushrooms, 4 cloves minced garlic, an additional 2c chicken stock and 2 t smoked paprika. It turned out great! Thanks, Claire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu loves to cook!
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This is absolutely delicious. Just make sure the water covers your ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
REALLY good soup. A little off the beaten lentil path with some of the flavors, but even my kids ate this. Great flavor and easy to make. I left out the ham, simply because we rarely eat pork and didn't have any. I did use a very small amount of bacon instead (2 strips worth). Other than that, I stayed true to the recipe! WILL definitely make this again. Served along side the Homesteader Cornbread recipe on this site with a green salad and it was a grrreat meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was a great recipe. I have never made lentil soup before, so having a German heritage, this recipe caught my eye. Have way through making it, I had to add 1 cup more of chicken broth. I like thick soups, so this worked out well for me. I was concerned that the vegetable swould not be cooked, but I followed the recipe and it terned out wonderful. While cooking the soup, the aroma through the house was like any ones Grandma's house. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States