German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I can't imagine anything I did wrong, because I'm certain I followed the recipe nearly exactly. It could just be a difference in taste and that this is a flavor I personally dislike. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made this with leftover Christmas ham. Excellent for a dreary December day. Like others it needs more liquid, I added beef stock because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
tasted great but, not really a "Soup" add extra broth or it will be thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
P.S. Great served over spaetzle or egg noodles! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I couldn't get my lentils soft in a slow cooker. I've had problems with beans too, so I don't think this is the recipes fault and I didn't deduct stars. I don't like caraway, so I didn't use it. I doubled the carrots cause that's my favorite part. I didn't have a ham hock or cubed ham, but I did have a 1.3lb smoked turkey leg. Amazing. I have turkey thighs smoked locally at Willie birds, so I am lucky to try that next time. Oh, I added 6 cups broth based on other reviewers. I like a thick lentil soup, and this was a little too loose for me. Next time I'll use 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I tried to make this for a dinner party since I was going to be gone all day. In 6 hours, everything had turned to mush in the crockpot. I wish I had read more reviews and not used the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Listen to what others have said, add additional liquid. I added a full box of chicken broth/stock(4cups), then filled it with water and added that water. Later on when lentils plumped it needed additional water(I also used a whole bag, 2.5 cups of lentils). I did not use caraway seed as I did not have it. Used semi-low sodium broth +1 on advice to use a low sodium version. Added 6 teaspoons Worcestershire Sauce. I always adjust recipes I make just slightly. Also added 2 cups potatoes. There's just not words how good this recipe is. If you really love lentils, this soup hits the spot. Better than I expected. The best soup I've made so far in my cooking journey. I can see myself defiantly making this again in the winter or maybe sooner. Really excellent flavor after melding all day together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
The recipe should have at least 3 times the amount of liquid stated (even for a slow cookier) since you need a 2 to 1 ratio even to just cook lentils. Anyway, I made this last night for dinner as I've been experimenting with caraway seeds lately. I feel that this recipe is a good solid base and would produce a tasty, warming soup as written. However, I did make the following changes to suit our tastes. We are vegetarian so I substituted vegetable broth (2 quarts) for the chicken stock, omitted the ham, but added 1 tsp. liquid smoke and 1 Tbs. dark brown sugar to add the smokey sweetness that the ham would have imparted to the soup. I doubled the vegetables, since we like lots of veggies, and doubled all of the spices except for the celery salt since we prefer more seasoned foods. I did not have celery salt so I just added 1/2 tsp. celery seed. (celery salt is just celery seed and salt anyway!) I cooked this on the stove instead of in a slow cooker and like most all stove top soups, I just added more water as necessary. It took about 1 hr. from start to finish. I served the soup with some home made whole wheat rolls. I think the soup tasted better today for lunch as it had time to develop the flavors as if I'd prepared it in a slow cooker. I will probably make this again sometime as I like to change up the seasonings in the different bean/lentil soups that I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
As almost every other reviewer mentioned, this needed a great deal of additional liquid. I used the stovetop method mentioned in the footnotes. I have to admit I didn't really care for this soup, but DH thought it was good. I was hesitant to add the nutmeg, but I wanted to follow the recipe as written. I should have left the nutmeg out. Even though it was just a small amount, I didn't like the way it blended with the other spices especially the caraway. I don't think I'd make this again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is a great soup once doctored up a bit. As others have noted, there is not enough liquid for the lentils. You should have at least 3 cups liquid per 1 cup lentil. I prefer to use dry beans anyhow, so I cook up my own first and then add it to my soup. I'm not a big fan of measuring when it comes to soups. I adjust the spices and ingredients to my taste and what I have on-hand. This being said, I do use everything except the nutmeg, hot sauce, and celery salt (there's enough flavor with the celery and salt the stock). I also normally don't carry hot pepper sauce, so I just use hot pepper flakes. This is one of my favorite parts of the soup because I put enough in it to make it pretty spicy on the tongue, giving a good kick. I start with 30 oz. chicken stock and add 2 more cups of water and then dump in my 3/4 onion, 1 clove garlic, ham bone, and 2-3 cups of cubed ham. I let that simmer and soften for an hour or so. Then I add everything else except the beans. I let everything simmer and meld on the stove for a few hours and then add the beans and it's done! It's a wonderful winter meal and a great way to finish off your ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayflour

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States