German Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Left out the rum and it turned out quite dry. Flavor was good, but I'm going to use some of the tweaks suggested by other reviewers and see if I can get it to be more moist next time. If that doesn't work, I'll move on to other recipes for lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierPrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Horrid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kanayong
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great recipe! Added some lemon zest with the rum. Put it in a round cake pan :) and added grated cheese on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This cake was wonderful. My German husband always love to eat German Christmas cakes, stollen etc over the Christmas holiays. I did wonder about not adding baking powder . After reading all of the reviews I went ahead and baked it. Excellent. I now have to make two more for my student sons to take back with them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
needs cool whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I had a little fresh lemon juice to use up and wanted to make a pound cake for DH to take to work. This recipe was suggested to me. It was very weird to use an entire cup of cornstarch in a cake recipe. I found the cake overall to be dry and plain. My DH ended up pouring more rum over the top. I doubt that I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I didn't make the glaze thin enough but enough did make it through the cake. It's heavy, fine grained, and awesome. It makes a large loaf. When serving, make it very thin slices - it's very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Very good cake. I have made this a few times already, I made extra lemon glaze, everybody love it. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This recipe came out fabulous. I did use the rum. It rose perfectly and was not heavy at all. I also doubled the glaze to pour on top / into the holes. I additionally toasted coconut to sprinkle on top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was awesome! Hard to believe it uses no extract no flavor no baking soda no baking powder and no salt. I didn't like the glaze, too tart. Next time I'll try some lemon zest and extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebony
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States