German Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My wife and I loved it, even though I had to substitute organic corn meal for the corn starch because we didn't have corn starch on hand, thereby making it less original. To those whose cakes didn't rise: perhaps your butter and eggs weren't at room temperature. Also, after having beaten in half the eggs, adding a spoonful of the flour before beating in the rest of the eggs can help stabilize the batter. This technique seems to work well in cakes that don't have chemical leavening agents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
delicious! i made extra glaze and made the glaze extra lemony and poked tons of holes in the cake with the bamboo skewers and poured geneoursly. I added axtra sugar to the rest of the glaze to maek the glaze thicker and more "glaze-y" so that it would crust nicely and poured/spread that one on for icing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This lemon cake was the best! My family was literally fighting over the last piece. Excellent! Will make all the time now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This has got to be one of the cake recipes I've ever made (and I've made a lot of cakes)! The only change I made to the recipe was using a dash of lemon extract instead of rum. A delicious cake and I will be making it again very soon by popular demand. Thank you for this yummy recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have to give this 5 stars! I did make a few slight changes. I had an overabundance of lemons and no rum in the house, so I substituted fresh squeezed lemon juice for the rum and threw in about a tablespoon of lemon zest with the dry ingredients. The cake was very moist, and the lemon flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Thank you sooo much for sharing!!!I'vsebeen looking for ths recipe since I was child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Almost like a pound cake, quite tastey with almon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Loved it. My father-in-law gave us a huge box of lemons from his tree and so I made lemonade and this cake! Didn't use the rum, otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a wonderful loaf cake. Very dense, not too sweet and the lemon flavor is wonderful. It was reminiscent of what I ate as a child in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this for my german friend as a gift. She loved it, said it was perfect and it brought back memories. I thought is was a bit dry but liked the zesty lemon. I only baked for one hour. Instructions for after cake comes out of the oven is contradictory. Wasn't sure if I should glaze IMMEDIATELY when removed from oven or wait until I remove from the pan. Also was curious about how the one cup of cornstarch thinking it was an error but it is correct. I would definitely make this again.. extremely easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States