German Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I made this cake for dinner guests... and was sadly disappointed!! It looked absolutely beautiful, it rose very high and had a beautiful golden crust, but it was incredibly dry. Perhaps decreasing the baking time would help. I probably won't try this again though, we just didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
delicious! i made extra glaze and made the glaze extra lemony and poked tons of holes in the cake with the bamboo skewers and poured geneoursly. I added axtra sugar to the rest of the glaze to maek the glaze thicker and more "glaze-y" so that it would crust nicely and poured/spread that one on for icing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This lemon cake was the best! My family was literally fighting over the last piece. Excellent! Will make all the time now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
some thing wrong with the ratio of dry to wet ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This has got to be one of the cake recipes I've ever made (and I've made a lot of cakes)! The only change I made to the recipe was using a dash of lemon extract instead of rum. A delicious cake and I will be making it again very soon by popular demand. Thank you for this yummy recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I'm not sure yet - I just made it. But, I'm suspicious because there was no leavening agent. What's going make this not a rock?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I put in a teaspoon of vanilla extract, two teaspoons of rum extract and a dash of the lemon juice for flavoring. I made extra lemon glaze to make it extra lemony and dusted it with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I must have done something wrong, since others had good results. Cake was about an inch high and very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have to give this 5 stars! I did make a few slight changes. I had an overabundance of lemons and no rum in the house, so I substituted fresh squeezed lemon juice for the rum and threw in about a tablespoon of lemon zest with the dry ingredients. The cake was very moist, and the lemon flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I WOULD LIKE TO FILL WITH PASTRY CREAM. COULD I BAKE IN A DIFFERENT SIZE PAN. I NEED TO MAKE 2/29 SO PLEASE HELP FAST. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friendship, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States