German Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I made this on a rainy day. My family loved it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I used a ham hock instead of a ham bone. And for my salt, all I had was sea salt. Made this for an Oktoberfest Party and it was a big hit. I left some potato chunks in for texture. I was handing out this recipe after the party. I recommend for a big party to just a cozy evening home with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very good. Will make again. Didn't have a ham bone so I added some julienned lean ham, which added a nice flavor, towards the end of cooking before pureeing with an immersion blender. I liked the fact that the leeks didn't overpower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Excellent Recipe! Taste great and fills you fast. They only problem I had was that the potatoes were not soft. I simply fixed this by letting the finished stew simmer for 2 hours on low heat. Problem solved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
EASY. I used 1/3 butter and 2 quarts each of chicken and beef stock instead of water, 1/2&1/2 instead of heavy cream. After pureeing I added some cut up ham and that really made it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was easy to shop for, prepare, and serve. It was a hit with my guests and husband. With a sprig of fresh thyme on top it looked gourmet to go along with the taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Meant to give 4.5stars. it is a good base - like the ham bone addition. Just got back from our local farmer's market today with bunch of fresh leeks, just-out-of-the-earth potatoes and the season's dried black olives with a nutty flavor- less salt. Decided to make this soup base with them: melted butter/olive oil in pot, sea salt, cracked black pepper & 3 bay leaves, stir fry in the sliced onions, some brown sugar on top, then sliced leeks. Toss together. Add the ham bone & I always brown the ham bone with a splash of good quality Chinese rice wine - it lifts the taste of the ham. top the pot with spring water & put in 15-20 of the dried black olives - it helps to add a subtle salty flavor to the soup naturally. chop up the potatoes into bite size pieces & toss in together with 3-4 cloves of chopped up garlic. bring to the boil then simmer the soup lowest heat for 2-3 hours. this fuses the flavors together and bring out the natural "sweetness" of the veg & meat in the soup. Leave out any cream/milk. do not puree. the potatoes & leeks/onions softened into the soup, the bits of meat came off the ham bone and I served it hot as broth w/softened chunks of potato & leeks with bits of ham meat in it - enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Thanks to the other reviewers comments... I had anticipated the soup to be on the bland side. So I substitute 2/3 of the water with chicken stock and added garlic to be fried with the onions. The 1st attempt was already a success! Very flavorful. We ate it with butter rolls and salad. It's whole enough to be a meal~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Love this recipe. I used chicken broth and the leftover juice from cooking the ham instead of all water. I cooked the ham bone for a longer time to make sure to be able to remove the the ham that was left on the bone and then added even some leftover ham to the soup. We prefer some chunks in our soup so I just used a hand blender to slightly puree it so the potatoes thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States