German Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Excellent Recipe! Taste great and fills you fast. They only problem I had was that the potatoes were not soft. I simply fixed this by letting the finished stew simmer for 2 hours on low heat. Problem solved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smoochthecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
EASY. I used 1/3 butter and 2 quarts each of chicken and beef stock instead of water, 1/2&1/2 instead of heavy cream. After pureeing I added some cut up ham and that really made it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was easy to shop for, prepare, and serve. It was a hit with my guests and husband. With a sprig of fresh thyme on top it looked gourmet to go along with the taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Meant to give 4.5stars. it is a good base - like the ham bone addition. Just got back from our local farmer's market today with bunch of fresh leeks, just-out-of-the-earth potatoes and the season's dried black olives with a nutty flavor- less salt. Decided to make this soup base with them: melted butter/olive oil in pot, sea salt, cracked black pepper & 3 bay leaves, stir fry in the sliced onions, some brown sugar on top, then sliced leeks. Toss together. Add the ham bone & I always brown the ham bone with a splash of good quality Chinese rice wine - it lifts the taste of the ham. top the pot with spring water & put in 15-20 of the dried black olives - it helps to add a subtle salty flavor to the soup naturally. chop up the potatoes into bite size pieces & toss in together with 3-4 cloves of chopped up garlic. bring to the boil then simmer the soup lowest heat for 2-3 hours. this fuses the flavors together and bring out the natural "sweetness" of the veg & meat in the soup. Leave out any cream/milk. do not puree. the potatoes & leeks/onions softened into the soup, the bits of meat came off the ham bone and I served it hot as broth w/softened chunks of potato & leeks with bits of ham meat in it - enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Thanks to the other reviewers comments... I had anticipated the soup to be on the bland side. So I substitute 2/3 of the water with chicken stock and added garlic to be fried with the onions. The 1st attempt was already a success! Very flavorful. We ate it with butter rolls and salad. It's whole enough to be a meal~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Love this recipe. I used chicken broth and the leftover juice from cooking the ham instead of all water. I cooked the ham bone for a longer time to make sure to be able to remove the the ham that was left on the bone and then added even some leftover ham to the soup. We prefer some chunks in our soup so I just used a hand blender to slightly puree it so the potatoes thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Delicious. I think next time I'll add a little flour to thicken, and some chopped leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was so good. I used ham broth that I had made and frozen earlier in the year and there was so much flavor. If I made it using a bone I would boil the bone longer then 20 minutes to get the most flavor from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
OMG! Absolutely delicious! I made a ham the other day and wanted to do something with the bone, and this is the first recipe that appeared. I used 10 red russet potatoes (peeled, but left some skin) and one leek chopped, probably more than a cup. I used 1 cup white cooking wine, 3 cups chicken broth, and 2cups water. I had to add some extra water to cover all the ingredients. I used a little less than 1/2 tsp of dried thyme (didn't have fresh). I simmered probably 45 minutes and used a hand mixer instead of a blender (much easier!) THere was a good bit of ham still attached to the bone that i cut off and threw in at the end. This was fabulous. My husband wants to buy a ham just to make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States