German Lebkuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Traditionally the dough is never put in the fridge but in a cool, dry place for several days. I have done just that using this recipe with good result. I have a huge issue with 400F/200C. This is way too high! The cookies will burn without ever baking. Instead, try 325F/160C for 10-12 minutes for a much better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Wanted to try something new this Christmas and so looked for German Christmas Cookies and came up with this one. Wasn't sure about it because it has no shortening in it but WOW - this one will become a tradition on our home. Great with some hot coffee on a cold day. I used chopped dried apricot because I could find the candied fruit peel. I think dates would work too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenAroundTheWorld
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I lived in Germany for 3 years and really miss good Lebkuchen from the Christmas Market, especially the one in Heidelberg. I Just tried this recipe and it's WAY better than I was expecting. Has the same texture I remember and the flavor is not too spicy but mellow. I used white sugar instead of brown (figuring why bother using brown with so much molasses). I also divided the recipe and made half of it with an additional cup of ground almonds and a tsp of almond extract just to see the difference. Both ways were perfect and I will be gifting these to my friends as well as adding them to my "must haves" for Christmas. Yes the dough is sticky but if you roll them into balls and flatten them (greased hands help), and use parchment paper on your cookie sheets, then they make the cutest little circles and bake in about 10 minutes at 375F. (I didn't even bother to chill, just used my cookie scoop aka tiny ice cream scoop on the soft dough then rolled in my hands and used plastic wrap to press on top into rounds to keep my hands clean).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Was a little sweeter than I like. Would like to try it again with reduced amount of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BearSwampChick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Yummy, yummy! Dough is not intended to make fancy shapes. Also MUST chill for few hours before rolling out. I prefer to press dough out into floured jelly roll pan (not greased) and cut into bars after baking. Then glaze/frost before taking bars out of pan. Need to separate layers in container with wax or parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These Lebkuchen are delicious, but quite a bit of work. The dough was very tempermental but it could have been because I was trying to make little gingerbread-type people out of them. With enough flour and a lot of patience, they came out better on the second try. Royal icing with a little lemon extract was perfect for decorating my little Lebkuchen people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
My Grandmother always made these for us. So I took some tips from her. I put the dough in a plastic bag with flour to chill over night. When we are ready to make the cookies, we just take the bag of dough out of the fridge, and roll them into balls and bake them on a greased cookie sheet. It is fairly sticky though, most recipes like this are. But this way, you don't have to worry about rolling out the dough, and making a sticky mess :) Also, we wait for the cookies to cool, then dip the top in the lemon glaze, that way more glaze stays on the cookies, and doesn't just slide off of them because they're so hot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Though I'm only a little bit German, I first had Lebkuchen in German class. I didn't know what I thought of it at first but over the years I find to love it. I used this recipe for a German projekte and it was loved by all! Thanks, this is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
These cookies are the best, I made a double batch of cookies and 1 of icing and still had some left over. I am taking 3 dozen for our cookie exchange next week. I am very pleased with this recipe. I remember having these as a kid so thanks for the memory too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This is the second year I have used this recipe. The Lebkuchen turn out wonderful and my german father can't get enough of them, says they remind him of when he was a boy. My husband loves them just as much! They are great with coffee, and good with or without the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHELMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States