German Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very good. I made this as instructed, using the lasagna noodles and the ingredients and amounts called for and it came out perfect. The only thing I did different was I took another reviewers suggestion and used some swiss cheese. Did give it a nice bite, but I think it gave it too MUCH of a bite. The sauerkraut alone does that. Just depends on your tastes, I guess. I personally don't think this recipe NEEDS any cheese. The sauce in itself makes the dish nice and creamy. So next time I make it, I'll probably leave the cheese out completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockbourne, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This recipe is delicious! I thought the sauerkraut would be overwhelming but it has a really nice balance. I prepared exactly as directed and it wasn't dry on the top as others had noted! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aztec, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
My husband is half German so I was happy to cook a recipe that I thought he might enjoy. He liked it fine (he's not much on compliments) but I REALLY thought it was good. Of course, like everyone else, I changed some things to suit our tastes. I used smoked turkey sausage instead of Kielbasa and "No Yolk" egg noodles instead of the lasagna noodles. I also sauted the sausage slices before adding them to the lasagna layers. I just think it makes the meat better to caramelize it a little before adding to a casserole. Anyway, like I said, it turned out great! I really think my German mother-in-law would enjoy it. Thanks for an unusual and satisfying recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Selma, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This recipe is so yummy! The saurkraut is not too overpowering either. Is a very nice change from your normal everyday humdrum meals. My son and I both loved it. It was very simple to make and I recommend this recipe to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Milton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Very tasty & easy. Both my husband and I agreed that next time I will use egg noodles, or some other form of pasta. The Lasanga format wasn't really working for us on this one, but it was great overall. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
A tasty, original twist on an old favorite! It's easy to make, to boot! Layers separated a bit for me, but the flavors are still oh-so-heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was the perfect comfort food! I sauteed the sauerkraut with onions and a small amount of caraway seeds. I used penne pasta instead of lasagna noodles. I was surprised that the canned soup taste wasn't so "canned" tasting. I layered in one layer of swiss cheese and one layer of mozzarella. The swiss cheese gave it a nice bite. I also added the dijon mustard to the soup mixture as suggested by another reviewer. I will make this again. It makes a lot, so I'll be eating it for lunch all week! That's not a bad thing, I just hope I don't eat it all by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Pretty nice change. I added onion to the top layer, which gave it some added flavor and next time I will add it to all layers. I also added dried italian herbs and that really helped. Use turkey kilbasa and reduced fat soups to cut on the calories for a healthy version. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This recipe is fabulous just the way it's written. Thanks, Don!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I don't know how to rate this. My 10 year old loved it. I am not a big sausage lover so this did not sit well with me. I could not think of how to describe this, another reviewer said it best... this is doughy. Like any lasagna it need to "set" Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States