German Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was the perfect comfort food! I sauteed the sauerkraut with onions and a small amount of caraway seeds. I used penne pasta instead of lasagna noodles. I was surprised that the canned soup taste wasn't so "canned" tasting. I layered in one layer of swiss cheese and one layer of mozzarella. The swiss cheese gave it a nice bite. I also added the dijon mustard to the soup mixture as suggested by another reviewer. I will make this again. It makes a lot, so I'll be eating it for lunch all week! That's not a bad thing, I just hope I don't eat it all by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I make a recipe similar to this but use Swiss cheese to go with an almost ruben flavor. My family loves it! We call it ruben lasagna. Drain the kraut well and enjoy! you can use 1/2 lb of sausage and 1 can of soup and make a smaller pan-ful pretty easily. [I usually use lite sausage and soup to cut down on some fat]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I was brought up eating lots of German food and altho it's not my thing, it is my Scottish hubby's love. I started by soaking regular lasagna noodles in a large pan filled with hot water to make them pliable enough to build the dish. I simmered the sauerkraut with onion, a little brown sugar and caraway seeds and boiled the kielbasa to remove some of the salt. Instead of the soups, I chose to make a white sauce which worked out fine. This morning Rachel Ray made a "mile high" lasagna using a loaf pan lined with foil so I followed her lead and did the same thing. Once out of the oven, I let it sit for a good 45 minutes to allow it to set up. It cut beautifully and my hubs thought this was absolutely terrific. Thanks so much Don!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
i cannot believe this recipe hasnt received more 5 star reviews!!!!! this lasagna is outstanding. i even made it for a friends wedding. gets devoured every time!!! occasionally i will substitue some of the milk with beer (what goes best with kraut, sausage, and cheese? beer!) and it gives the lasagna an awesome twist! thanks for the recipe :).....i also find it bizarre for people to rate this recipe negatively, claimimg its because they dont like sausage or sauerkraut. those two ingredients are clearly stated in the recipe, so if you dont like them, why would you make this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I'm giving this three stars as the recipe is writen because I found it to be too doughy with the lasagna noodles. The flavor of the recipe is good (if you like sausage and sauerkraut, and I'm a sauerkraut FREAK!) so I'd probably try this again but probably with a different noodle (thin layers of egg noodles? AND more sauerkraut!) or layers of par-boiled thin slices potatoes. And it's really easy to put together if your a sauerkraut FREAK like me who always has sauerkraut in her pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Great recipe - recommend you at least try it. Definitely make sure the sauerkraut is well drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vallygoil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I'll be trying this one again. I used Italian sausage instead of kielbasa & I don't think it was the same. Everyone liked it okay, but wasn't wowed by it. With some changes, I think it could be a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I made two kinds of lasagna for a party and this one was the hands down winner! Unfortunately, there was only one piece leftover. Used no boil noodles and they worked beautifully. Shared the recipe with several of the guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly as we didn't have some stuff, but I mostly followed it... And it was really good! I used wagon wheel pasta and only one can of soup (mushroom). I used less milk and added a block of cream cheese. It was really good! Our daughter enjoyed it, after pooh-poohing because there was sauerkraut in it. Success! And it was great the next day. Thanks for sharing, Don!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very good! This was a big hit with my husband. I halved everything but the noodles and cheese, which worked perfectly. I used swiss and mozzarella cheeses and one can of Campbell's Cream of Chicken and Mushroom soup. Reheats well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States