German Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
We did not enjoy this at all. I made it exactly as the original recipe instructs, so I'm not rating anyone else's modifications. For one thing, we found it to be very soupy. I think half the milk would have been plenty. For another, we found the texture strange, perhaps due to the sauerkraut. And lastly, but most importantly, we thought it was just a very strange-tasting combination. Soups plus cheese plus sauerkraut? I thought a recipe with four and a half stars would taste a lot better, but even our German roots didn't prepare us for this dish. Our 6-year-old had to be bribed to finish half of her plate, and my husband and I, while we ate it, did not enjoy it. Sorry, just not a good dish for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is pretty unique, but very yummy. The sour kraut definitely gives it a character. I am not sure lasagna pasta belongs there too well, however, I might try egg noodles next time, or better yet, spatzle if I can find it. Over all, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Wife and I just loved this recipe. Next time I will be using egg noodles and colby cheese. Some time in the future I will be making this recipe for my local recipe club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie_Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Unreal! I made sure to drain the saurkraut really well and fried it in some butter and onions first. I used farmer's sausage instead of kielbasa because of DH's preference - didn't fry it first, but made sure to slice it really thin. It was sooo good and was a hit at a dinner of about 12 people - went way faster then the standard meat lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
The flavor was good, but would remake it again using only 1 can of soup. I felt it was too soup heavy for the quantity of sausage and kraut. I did use beer in place of milk and used swiss/mozzerella mixed together cheese as recommended. Added some salt and pepper and spicy mustard to the sauce, gave it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
A nice unique dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This recipe was delicious I was looking for something different to try... I did make some slight changes first I used no boil lasagna noodles which worked out cause I didn't have to drain the sauerkruat completely which is a pain for me, I also added salt pepper and garlic powder to the soup mixture, and I used Swiss cheese and a skinless kielbasa. It came out beautifully. Also I didn't see the need to break out the blender to mix the soups and milk, I just used a whisk. I will make this one again but next time ill use more kraut...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Livingdedgurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
this is a wonderful dish !!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by risrmc
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have lasagna noodles, so I used a box of rigatoni, and it came out very good. My husband loved it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I made this last night for dinner, adding some swiss cheese and using half milk half beer as some people suggested - it was wonderful!!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittycat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States