German French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Not sure what provoked me to try this recipe... I guess because I was only cooking for myself and I like eggs, cheese, toast, butter... Frankly, I will never admit to my classy friends that I actually ate this, nor will I serve it to my husband, however I'm thinking if I'd just had a date with a guy that took me to one of those crazy beer restaurants that likes to serve a burger patty in a taco shell and taco meat on a bun... then (in the morning?) this recipe might just bring him down on one knee!! Ha!... good in a mom's comfort food sorta way. I used a Cheddar cheese and maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have had the week off and tried many recipies! This one is over thee top great. It was easy and quick. I added a small amount of cinnomen and powered sugar and a drizzel of pur maple syrup. Made more---------alot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Sooooooooo delicious! Served with a drizzle of Maple Syrup and a side of bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Hmmmm.... not bad. Actually it was a bit dry at first and I wasn't sure what condiment to use, but I tried Mrs. Butterworth's syrup and it turned out great with that on top. The Muenster doesn't have much flavor, it blends right in and this was really pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Really good! My grandma would make some like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Not bad! I used egg substitute and homemade challah. The cheese sort of replaces any butter one might normally spread on french toast. It contrasts well with the powdered sugar I sprinkled on top! I didn't like it very much without the sugar, strangely enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
So simple, and yet sooooo yummy. I used the sliced, packaged, store brand muenster, so I could stand a little more cheese flavour, but as a person who does not like sweet, I have found my ideal french toast!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I'm a newish cook, and I think this is the first time I've ever made French Toast of any sort. Plus, I'm not sure if I've ever even had Muenster either. That said, this was pretty easy to make, and tasted pretty good. I only give it 3 stars because it wasn't fantastic, but I still might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States