German French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I have done this with Swiss cheese and a little maple syrup(home-made from our neighbors) drizzled over the top. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
used this as a base for monte christo. awesome. did add worst. to egg coat, great suggestion. thanks to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
It sounds appealing and tastes good. However, I did not know what condiments would match well with the dish. German French Toast is a good beginner's dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackberry_winter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Um... well, I don't get the ratings. Or maybe I don't "get" the recipe. I am not a fan of sickening sweet stuff, like syrup, so I tended to see this as a substitute for using syrup and was surprised to see people using syrup, powdered sugar, etc. Syrup with cheese... er, yuk. But maybe that's what it was meant to be, I dunno. I agree with Christine that it's more of an open-face grilled cheese, and in fact had thought, why not just make a grilled cheese with muenster as it'd be easier. Momasguardianangel isn't the only one who ran out of egg mixture and it's not because of the homemade bread. I ran out as well - I was pushing the bread around in the bowl trying to get every last drop and then just ended up spreading some margarine on the rest -- really, it tasted much the same that way, so why not just make a grilled cheese? They also burned very easily - medium I think is too high. It also was not at all filling. So the 2 is not really cause I disliked it per se, but more because I just thought it was a waste and the recipe had problems. (Though making a plain old grilled cheese with muenster does sound good, with more cheese though.)(And lol, kkcooks!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Really easy to make. Fun, simple flavor but it does seem like "something" is missing. Will probably make it again in search of that "something."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This recipe was a delightful suprise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
LOOOOOVE this recipe! I'm not a sweets in the morning fan but love french toast and the addition of the cheese helped balance it out plus gives you more protein. Also, I add some cinnamon and nutmeg. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Quick, easy, and a little dif. taste I used homemade bread, because I make all of our bread(not bread machine either)so I got 6, not 8 slices before the egg ran out. As far as "condiments" None needed! a little salt and pepper in the egg mixture, and you are good to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasguardianangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This is one of those recipes I never would have thought to try if someone had not mentioned it on the recipe exchange, and I ended up liking it a lot! When I think of French toast, I think "breakfast" but this is really just a variation open-faced grilled cheese, so I had it for supper. Quick, easy and actually pretty filling since I used a nice hearty multi-grain bread! I took another reviewer's suggestion and added a few shakes of Worcestershire and THAT really made it savory and yummy! Next time I might add it to the egg mixture before dipping the bread - oh, and since it was just me, I used egg substitute so I could just use a splash and not "waste" any leftover egg. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Had to try it because it's different. Since I'm such a cheese fan, it tasted good to me! Might add bacon the next time. As for Nathalie's review - I didn't know we were reviewing the name of the recipe - lighten up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williams, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States