German Currywurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
in germany this recipe is made with kockwurst, also we use a lot more curry, hence "currywurst", it is served with fresh broetchen (something like a hard roll) which is dipped in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
i grew up on Curry Wurst this gets close but meh... germans acutally use a sausage made of fine ground beef that gets fried till the skin is crispy but the type of sausage is somewhat regional an easier sauce is ketchup with lots of curry (to taste) and some browned fine diced onions served usually with a fresh roll and/or french fries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Placanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by STRUDELQUEEN
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I love this easy recipe. When I make it (I am Austrian)in the U.S., I grill the sausage (jumbo hot dogs or bratwurst) and use ketchup mixed with curry. For appearance I sprinkle a little bit of curry on top. This makes it very easy. Serve it with a crips Kaiserroll and use toothpicks for eating. I submitted a photo which looks pretty authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRUDELQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I think the proportions are off on this recipe. Using the amount of tomato sauce that is called for make it taste just like sausage in tomato sauce you don't get any of the flavor of the seasonings. It may be better if you cut down the amount of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Try a knockwurst instead of the kielbasa. (kielbasa is Polish not German). Knockwurst is more like the original Currywurst from Berlin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I've been eating currywurst ever since I came to the States 35 years ago. I make it polish sausage or knockwurst. I have always made with Ketchup. I used good Hungarian Paprika and Indian Curry. I tried this version, but used only one can of tomato sauce (3 seemed a bit too much). It was very good and I welcomed the change. I know it is popular in Berlin, but it was also popular in Heilbronn, which is in the South. I pretty much could purchase it anywhere in Germany. Thanks, sure enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heilbronn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
It is very good, but there was a lot of sauce. I will probably use 2 cans of tomato sauce next time and maybe try a different kind of sausage. It was similar to what I ate in Germany, but not hot enough. I had to add more curry and pepper. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This was good, and very quick. The only thing that I didn't like about it was how much sauce was wasted. I will cut the sauce recipe by half, at least, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This was so good. I'll be sure to measure the hot sauce next time the sauce I had was tooooo hot but still was awesome. I served this over peeled and boiled potatos, it turned out to be the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olyscrapper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Really good! I added a little garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States