German Christmas Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This cake is not too sweet. It has been a hit eveytime I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This recipe will make you a rock star! I have made it for the last 2 years as Christmas gifts, and my German friends all comment on how it reminds them of the holidays from when they were little. It's not overly sweet, which I like. The recipe is easy to follow, and it makes your house smell FABULOUS! It is very authentic-tasting. You simply MUST make this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is wonderful, I will add more ginger next time but really is great as is. I'll definitely make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This cake had a really good flavor, in spite of the fact that my bundt pan is garbage and it burned it half to death. The inside was still really nice. I am looking forward to trying it again when I have a new bundt pan!! I wonder if a different cooking temperature and time would've saved it? Because the outside was charred. I know my pan was bad, but still - 80 minutes seemed a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My family loved this recipe and the aroma was wonderful while it baked! However, everyone agreed that it tasted more like fruit cake than gingerbread. I used the very best ingredients: freshly squeezed orange juice, Grand Marnier, and Priester's Pecan pieces. It was an excellent recipe but I wanted more of an "old fashioned" gingerbread taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Wonderfull,moist,flavorfull,did have a slight problem gettng it out of the tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Don't envision traditional "gingerbread with lemon sauce"! This cake is a delicious, hearty spice cake. Can't wait to try some with coffee in the morning. A couple things: I wanted it to be more flavorful, so I added more spices. Also the recipe makes a huge amount of batter, way too much for my bunt pan. Did not relese from my pan at all, but I don't think my kids will care...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this for the B&B this weekend, and everyone loved it! I substituted extra OJ since I didn't have orange liqueur, and didn't pack the brown sugar. I will definitely be making this throughout the winter season - it is really delicious. I used it in place of a coffee cake for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great recipe, I modified it slightly, so here are my modifications. First, ~I MADE A DOUBLE BATCH, SO MODIFICATIONS ARE BASED ON THAT.~ I replaced the raisins with fresh Madijol dates chopped about the size of a raisin with scissors and I added 1.5 cups of fresh candied ginger slices that I cut into fine strips with the scissors and rolled the ginger and dates through the brown sugar so that they would not all stick together in clumps. I also reduced the brown sugar for a DOUBLE batch by 1 cup less, using 3 cups brown sugar and further reducing the honey by 2/3 cup less as well on the double batch. I also increased the spices as follows for a double batch. 2 tsp cloves and 2 tsp cinnamon instead of the lesser amounts listed in original recipe. I did not have nutmeg on hand, so that was also left out, but I did not see a significant difference without it. I was out of orange liqueur, so I substituted Bailey's Irish cream and added the zest of 1 whole orange to the Irish Cream and let that sit while I stirred up the rest of ingredients... it smelled totally great and just like orange liqueur by the time I mixed it it!!! TURNED OUT FABULOUS AND MOIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine61967

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Yum...this is the perfect compromise between a spice cake and the German gingerbread dessert my Oma made for so many years. My cake was done at 55 minutes - so make sure you check it early! I substituted the almonds with pecans, and also used golden raisins. Do this cake a favor and make a wonderful orange icing using freshly squeezed juice and zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States