German Christmas Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Really lovely recipe and worth cooking just for the wonderful smell that filled the house!! As per other reviewers I upped the spices a little and mine was cooked in 65 minutes. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This turned out very good - and that's saying something because I am not a great cook. I made it exactly as instructed - minus the almonds (none on hand). It is very moist, and made the whole house smell wonderful. I made it in the mini-loaf pans to give in Christmas baskets - baked for 35 minutes, turned out perfect. As a side note - my boyfriend said it was good but thought the orange flavor was too strong and took away from the traditional gingerbread flavor he was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stolle3314
Home Town: Manila, Utah, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
My kids could not get enough!!! Thank you for sharing. Don't open the door (or in my case don't let the kids roam the kitchen) of the oven before it's done, otherwise it goes down just like a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Loved it. Moist and flavorful. I made a few substitutions based on what I had in my cupboard; loquat liquor instead of orange, buttermilk instead of sour cream, and dried cranberries instead of raisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Spactacular recipe! I didn't change anything except for not adding the almonds. This tastes excellent just the way it is. I took it to my son's preschool for a special snack and it was loved! I am making it again for Christmas right now. Only note I have to leave is that I used loaf pans and it definitely makes more than two! It overflowed all over, so now I am making it into four loaves, two cups of batter each. We'll see how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOSIERENVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I followed this recipe completely, except no orange liqueur available to use. Prepped the pan, but the cake baked unevenly (dry on outside, still uncooked inside), and it fell apart when I tried to remove it from the pan. Flavor just okay. The raisins and nuts did not help the flavor. What did I do wrong???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I don't know if I screwed this up or not, but it did not look like the picture and did not taste good. It was too many flavors and not sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was an excellent addition to our Christmas recipes! I am planning on making it a new tradition in my family. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is delicous! Beware that the batter makes very big loaves; I split it into two pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
My husband and kids loved this bread! I substituted applesauce for the butter and egg beaters for the eggs, it was just delicious! I also cooked it in two loaf pans, so I'd be able to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States