German Chocolate Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
Oh, this is so good! I like the idea that when the cake is done so is the frosting. I didn't know if it would work with all the water in the bottom of the pan, but it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
this is my favorite cake. Everybody I know who has had it loves it. It is very rich, but I could eat the whole thing in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
perfect and delicious! very easy to put together. I cheated and used a box mix this time, but delicious just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
This is a very easy recipe which I think is just as good, if not better, than "traditional" versions. I think it would very useful for potlucks and also when you simply have a lot mouths to feed! I didn't have German chocolate, so I subtituted semi-sweet and increased the sugar to 2 cups. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
An easy to make cake - everyone loved it. Very moist and the baked frosting was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This is a favorite of my family since I first made it a year ago. The only change I made is pecans instead of walnuts. This is a very delicious cake Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This cake is wonderful. I have to agree, the presentation isn't great but if you don't try it because of that, you are missing out on a wonderful cake. It is very rich and tasty. I saw that others complained it needed more chocolate, I don't believe that it does. German chocolate cake isn't supposed to be heavy on the chocolate, it was just right. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inked Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This cake is really good. I was a little scared when making it. It looked like something was not right! But it is great! When turning it upside down some of the icing does stick to the pan. Cut as you eat... do not precut in squares for gatherings. It tears up pretty bad...but it's good cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by edennett
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was a really great recipe. I let mine cool before flipping it. I put the cookie sheet on top of the cake pan and flipped it that way. Only had a little bit of cake come apart and was able to clean it up with the excess icing. Delicious German Chocolate Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Huntsville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I love this cake! I never would have thought to make a german choc cake upside down, but its soo much easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States