German Chocolate Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This is a favorite of my family since I first made it a year ago. The only change I made is pecans instead of walnuts. This is a very delicious cake Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This cake is wonderful. I have to agree, the presentation isn't great but if you don't try it because of that, you are missing out on a wonderful cake. It is very rich and tasty. I saw that others complained it needed more chocolate, I don't believe that it does. German chocolate cake isn't supposed to be heavy on the chocolate, it was just right. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inked Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This cake is really good. I was a little scared when making it. It looked like something was not right! But it is great! When turning it upside down some of the icing does stick to the pan. Cut as you eat... do not precut in squares for gatherings. It tears up pretty bad...but it's good cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
This is a very easy recipe which I think is just as good, if not better, than "traditional" versions. I think it would very useful for potlucks and also when you simply have a lot mouths to feed! I didn't have German chocolate, so I subtituted semi-sweet and increased the sugar to 2 cups. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
A trick to have it come out of the baking dish without sticking, is to line the dish with parchemint paper. This way, it comes out effortlessly without sticking! I topped half of the sauce with pecan and left out the other half without pecans. At the family dinner, I got mixed reviews. Some could NOT stop eating it, and kept going back for more. Others, thought the cake was not rich enough or was lacking flavour. They said it just doesn't satisfy the sweet craving. I only tasted it a whole week later (stored in the fridge), after warming each slice a bit in the microwave. I loved it! I thought it just hits the spot! It was still moist and delicious! So here you go, some were addicted to it, and for some, it was too light. You be the judge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
perfect and delicious! very easy to put together. I cheated and used a box mix this time, but delicious just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
The cake itself was light & tender. I would make it again by itself. The topping was pretty good, too, similar but not the same as actual frosting. Everyone liked it. I was also skeptical about all of the liquid, but I didn't have any spillage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
Oh, this is so good! I like the idea that when the cake is done so is the frosting. I didn't know if it would work with all the water in the bottom of the pan, but it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
If you're picky about presentation this is not the cake for you. The appearance of this cake was disappointing to say the least; I ended up having quite a bit leftover because nobody wanted to touch it. However it did taste fairly good. I was also unsure when to "un-mold" the cake from the pan, ended up letting it cool 10 minutes before turning it out onto a baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
love the cake. the one change Imade was to bake it in small round ramekins. To serve I add a dollop of whip cream and a spoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States