German Chocolate Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
Oh, this is so good! I like the idea that when the cake is done so is the frosting. I didn't know if it would work with all the water in the bottom of the pan, but it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
The cake itself was light & tender. I would make it again by itself. The topping was pretty good, too, similar but not the same as actual frosting. Everyone liked it. I was also skeptical about all of the liquid, but I didn't have any spillage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
this is my favorite cake. Everybody I know who has had it loves it. It is very rich, but I could eat the whole thing in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
perfect and delicious! very easy to put together. I cheated and used a box mix this time, but delicious just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
This is a very easy recipe which I think is just as good, if not better, than "traditional" versions. I think it would very useful for potlucks and also when you simply have a lot mouths to feed! I didn't have German chocolate, so I subtituted semi-sweet and increased the sugar to 2 cups. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
OK, I basically am not a fan of German chocolate cake. I think the coconut is just to much for me. I have never made German chocolate cake before either. I opted to try this recipe because of the ease of it and it had good reviews. I am baking it at a request. The recipe was EASY! Easy is GOOD! The topping tasted great, The cake batter tasted great, I used real butter, and accidentally forgot the vanilla! I have not tasted the final product, other than the topping, but the only problem I encountered was the instuctions are not clear about what to do when the cake is finished baking. I immediatly inverted it onto a cookie sheet, that is what to do with pineapple upside down, but some of the center stuck to the pan. I scraped it off and replaced it on the cake. Looks OK, but not at all an eye appealing cake. Any revisions to this recipe about what to do to finish up would be helpful. I plan on trying this again. Thanks for the great idea, MONICA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
An easy to make cake - everyone loved it. Very moist and the baked frosting was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was a great recipe, although I did add to it. I added a cream cheese and sugar mixture and dropped on top of the batter before baking. I'm such a sweet eater and I think without that it would have been too bland for me, but overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
If you're picky about presentation this is not the cake for you. The appearance of this cake was disappointing to say the least; I ended up having quite a bit leftover because nobody wanted to touch it. However it did taste fairly good. I was also unsure when to "un-mold" the cake from the pan, ended up letting it cool 10 minutes before turning it out onto a baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This is a favorite of my family since I first made it a year ago. The only change I made is pecans instead of walnuts. This is a very delicious cake Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States