German Chocolate Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I have done this cake 3 times. Luv it!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
A trick to have it come out of the baking dish without sticking, is to line the dish with parchemint paper. This way, it comes out effortlessly without sticking! I topped half of the sauce with pecan and left out the other half without pecans. At the family dinner, I got mixed reviews. Some could NOT stop eating it, and kept going back for more. Others, thought the cake was not rich enough or was lacking flavour. They said it just doesn't satisfy the sweet craving. I only tasted it a whole week later (stored in the fridge), after warming each slice a bit in the microwave. I loved it! I thought it just hits the spot! It was still moist and delicious! So here you go, some were addicted to it, and for some, it was too light. You be the judge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Fantastic cake and easy. I made it with regular semi sweet chocolate and it was brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I love this cake! I never would have thought to make a german choc cake upside down, but its soo much easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
love the cake. the one change Imade was to bake it in small round ramekins. To serve I add a dollop of whip cream and a spoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very Tasty! I baked it for my Mother's 80th birthday party - it's her favorite cake. As noted before - it's not the prettiest, as it comes out of the pan a bit awkwardly but tastes great! will make again -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Didn't really like this, was a little too wet and watery for me. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This tasted pretty good but was not very pretty to look at. Typically chocolate cake goes quickly in my house. I ended up throwing the last few slices away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by edennett
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was a really great recipe. I let mine cool before flipping it. I put the cookie sheet on top of the cake pan and flipped it that way. Only had a little bit of cake come apart and was able to clean it up with the excess icing. Delicious German Chocolate Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Huntsville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This cake is really good. I was a little scared when making it. It looked like something was not right! But it is great! When turning it upside down some of the icing does stick to the pan. Cut as you eat... do not precut in squares for gatherings. It tears up pretty bad...but it's good cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States