German Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
These cookies taste good, especially the icing, but they aren't that attractive. A couple of tips--be sure, so that your egg mixture doesn't curdle (it's supposed to be smooth)cook it only on medium. Do not be tempted to get it boiling faster by turning up the heat, or you'll have a mess! Also, I made a couple of test cookies since I read the reviews about how bad they turned out, and I decided to press the dough into a mini muffin pan. Fill each muffin space about halfway full, then press a 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon into the center to form the hole. You can then shape the dough around your hole to help get a better look. Fill the hole with the icing mixture, and bake. You'll get cuter cookies that can't spread since they are confined to the muffin cups! These do taste good, and I may use a more chocolatey cake next time for better color & flavor. My brother-in-law (the sole reason I made these) loved them, as he is a huge German chocolate cake fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by BunnyD
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Excellent cookie recipe! I loved the convenience of using a cake mix for the majority of the cookie dough. The coconut/pecan topping was actually really easy to make from scratch, and not overly sweet like the canned versions. I added 1/2 cup of flour to the cookie batter as suggested by the other reviewers, and chilled the dough before making the cookies and in between batches - they came out beautifully. My husband loves German Chocolate Cake so I can't wait for him to try these! ** I've made these cookies multiple times and found that added about 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips to the batter makes it even better and brings out more of the chocolate flavor! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I made 2 batches in the same day. Batch #1: made exactly as stated, and put dough in fridge. Cookies spread to 3", and were flat. Batch #2: I significantly cut the amount of filling I added to the cake mix, hoping the cookies wouldn't be so flat and spread so much. No appreciable difference. These taste great -- unique blend of crunchy and chewy. My guests adored them, and asked for the recipe! But beware: they spread a LOT. Even making them in 1" balls yields a 3" cookie. I had a lot of filling left over after Batch #1 and even more with Batch #2 and froze it for I-don't-know-what. The only way I'd improve them would be to somehow make them not as flat. Perhaps adding 50% more coconut and nearly that much more pecans would help bulk them up. Whatever, I highly recommend these. They're addictive: be sure to make more than enough for what you need, because you'll end up eating several while they're still warm from the oven. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I've made dozens of yummy recipes from this site over the years, but this one drove me to actually write a review. Someone I adore loves German Chocolate Cake, but he also lives far away. :( GCTC to the rescue. At first I snickered at the thought of using a cake mix for the cookie dough. Then I felt a little devilish at the thought of getting away with it. The first batch valiantly gave itself in the name of research. My sister dedicated herself to scrutinizing the cookie batter while her husband choked down the filling. After passing reviews, batch #2 was apparenly abducted by aliens while setting up in the fridge. Batch #3 turned out beautifully, and was packed and on its way to the object of my affection. Without even trying the originally recipe, I followed the pack and added the 1/2 c flour to the cookie batter. I also refrigerated the dough overnight and used a sorbet scoop to portion the dough and a small melon baller to hollow out an indentation for the filling. Save yourself alot of grief and just make a double batch to begin with so half can be devoured "raw" and the other half can make it to the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N8VTXN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These were ugly, butyummy! Since they were ugly and I was taking them to work, I decided to put the dough in an 8x8 pan, then put the topping mixture on. These were the best "brownies" I have ever made! I baked them for about 35 mnutes. I just kept checking them. I did end up taking some of the ugly cookies to work and one lady said they were the best cookies she had ever had! NOTE-I am high altitude, about 7000 above sea level, so not sure if they flattened due to that. I may try baking powder next time. (and I did add the extra 1/2 cup or so of flour because they were too sticky to work with). I think I will stick with the brownie version for now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philomath, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
These are great cookies! I added 1/2 cup of flour to the dough and chilled for 30 minutes and they turned out perfect! They did not run and were the perfect "cookie" texture and looked great! Were a huge hit at my husband's company. Also, I did have alot of filling left, so maybe use only 1/2 next time...these made 4 doz. cookies for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Paris, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I brought these to a Christmas party--having never made them before--and guests loved them. I have had several requests for the recipe since then. Very easy, but do not appear to be an "easy" cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I was going to make German chocolate cake but stumbled into this recipe instead. This is a delicious cookie that is crispy on the edges and chewy in the center. I didn't have any pecans, but walnuts were a great substitute. I had enough cookie dough and filling to make six dozen cookies. It's a nice change of pace from the usual jam-filled thumbprint cookie. Thanks for a great recipe, Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I decided my first batch would be done in a mini-muffin pan. I used devil's food mix (YUM!) I didn't add the 1/2c flour, and they were a little "cakey" for my taste. I will make them again as mini-muffins with the 1/2c flour. Thanks for a great recipe for my cookie collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
The very BEST cookie I have ever eaten. I receive raves from everyone who tastes one...and it super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaruka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States