German Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
The cookies turned out ugly and flat. They tasted just ok. I made the mistake of not reading the reviews till after I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadaLadyBug

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I've made dozens of yummy recipes from this site over the years, but this one drove me to actually write a review. Someone I adore loves German Chocolate Cake, but he also lives far away. :( GCTC to the rescue. At first I snickered at the thought of using a cake mix for the cookie dough. Then I felt a little devilish at the thought of getting away with it. The first batch valiantly gave itself in the name of research. My sister dedicated herself to scrutinizing the cookie batter while her husband choked down the filling. After passing reviews, batch #2 was apparenly abducted by aliens while setting up in the fridge. Batch #3 turned out beautifully, and was packed and on its way to the object of my affection. Without even trying the originally recipe, I followed the pack and added the 1/2 c flour to the cookie batter. I also refrigerated the dough overnight and used a sorbet scoop to portion the dough and a small melon baller to hollow out an indentation for the filling. Save yourself alot of grief and just make a double batch to begin with so half can be devoured "raw" and the other half can make it to the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N8VTXN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Amy and I ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Sorry to give this a low rating, but I took them to a gathering and brought home about the whole plate and then no one would eat them here at home. The filling has possibilities, but the cookie base was kind of tasteless. Maybe I'm one of those people who like things on the sweeter side. Just not worth the effort or calories for me- sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made these for a friend who loves German chocolate cake...they were a huge hit, about to make another batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I made the mistake of not reading the comments until now. Great cookie, but it goes flat. Next time I will put the extra flour in like everyone else. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I had a terrible time with these! I followed the tips and added 1/2 cup of flour, then refrigerated the dough. But it was way too dry to even roll into a ball! So I put it all into a sprayed 9x13 dish, added the filling on top, and baked for 35 minutes. They are still warm, but I don't think the consistency will even hold up as a "brownie". I admit that they are good, but it seems that they are too tempermental! Maybe I'll try again when it's not snowing out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
GREAT TASTING! I added 1/2 cup flour (as others suggested) otherwise followed recipe exactly. They still flattened out a little more than I was hoping, so next time I will up the flour a little more. When the cookies cooled I drizzled the tops with melted chocolate chips that I put in a little zip-lock bag that I snipped the corner of. It made them look GREAT...everyone loved them! P.S. I've also tried them with a Devils Food Cake Mix & they were wonderful! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
If you love german chocolate cake you will love these cookies, Imade these for a cookie psrty and every person there asked for the recipie and before everyone left all of the cookies were gone. I did add the 1/2 cup of flour. Fantastic recipie I have already made three more batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These were ugly, butyummy! Since they were ugly and I was taking them to work, I decided to put the dough in an 8x8 pan, then put the topping mixture on. These were the best "brownies" I have ever made! I baked them for about 35 mnutes. I just kept checking them. I did end up taking some of the ugly cookies to work and one lady said they were the best cookies she had ever had! NOTE-I am high altitude, about 7000 above sea level, so not sure if they flattened due to that. I may try baking powder next time. (and I did add the extra 1/2 cup or so of flour because they were too sticky to work with). I think I will stick with the brownie version for now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philomath, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States