German Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
It Was OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Okay, I'm SO frustrated! I originally found this recipe while I was supposed to be working, and made them several times in my employer's oven. They always turned out fabulous. They looked just like the picture, and tasted wonderful. I scoffed at all you whiny amateurs who couldn't get them right. :) However...baking them in MY oven is a very different story! They go flat, like so many of the complaints I've seen. I've NEVER gotten them to look right at home! It has to be a temperature issue, wouldn't you think? I'm determined to figure this out, because my family and I LOVE these cookies! Meanwhile...to decrease the ugly, I'm using a heart-shaped cookie cutter on the flatties I made tonight. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
The hubby loved these. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I came across this recipe after looking for a German cookie recipe. Duh! I thought these cookies were really good. Yes, they come out flat and chewy if you bake per original directions but I'm not complaining. Might try adding some flour as recommended by other reviewers. They were sweet, chewy and easy to make. I don't think they are 'ugly' as others have stated. Come on what do you expect from chocolate cake mix, coconut and pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
These cookies were just okay. They turned out really flat and I add the extra 1/2 cup flour like others suggested. I don't think I will make these again. Not at all what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIM22871

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I decided my first batch would be done in a mini-muffin pan. I used devil's food mix (YUM!) I didn't add the 1/2c flour, and they were a little "cakey" for my taste. I will make them again as mini-muffins with the 1/2c flour. Thanks for a great recipe for my cookie collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
These cookies taste good, especially the icing, but they aren't that attractive. A couple of tips--be sure, so that your egg mixture doesn't curdle (it's supposed to be smooth)cook it only on medium. Do not be tempted to get it boiling faster by turning up the heat, or you'll have a mess! Also, I made a couple of test cookies since I read the reviews about how bad they turned out, and I decided to press the dough into a mini muffin pan. Fill each muffin space about halfway full, then press a 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon into the center to form the hole. You can then shape the dough around your hole to help get a better look. Fill the hole with the icing mixture, and bake. You'll get cuter cookies that can't spread since they are confined to the muffin cups! These do taste good, and I may use a more chocolatey cake next time for better color & flavor. My brother-in-law (the sole reason I made these) loved them, as he is a huge German chocolate cake fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
The cookies turned out ugly and flat. They tasted just ok. I made the mistake of not reading the reviews till after I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadaLadyBug

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I've made dozens of yummy recipes from this site over the years, but this one drove me to actually write a review. Someone I adore loves German Chocolate Cake, but he also lives far away. :( GCTC to the rescue. At first I snickered at the thought of using a cake mix for the cookie dough. Then I felt a little devilish at the thought of getting away with it. The first batch valiantly gave itself in the name of research. My sister dedicated herself to scrutinizing the cookie batter while her husband choked down the filling. After passing reviews, batch #2 was apparenly abducted by aliens while setting up in the fridge. Batch #3 turned out beautifully, and was packed and on its way to the object of my affection. Without even trying the originally recipe, I followed the pack and added the 1/2 c flour to the cookie batter. I also refrigerated the dough overnight and used a sorbet scoop to portion the dough and a small melon baller to hollow out an indentation for the filling. Save yourself alot of grief and just make a double batch to begin with so half can be devoured "raw" and the other half can make it to the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N8VTXN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Amy and I ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States