German Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Wow! These cookies are terrific and addictive! Just make sure you read the instructions all the way through before attempting. My topping mixture looked a little curded while cooking, but it still tasted great, so I am not sure if it is supposed to do that or not. Also, I used the pre-chopped "cookie" pecans that were extra-finely chopped. This worked great for the topping and didn't leave any annoyingly large pieces in the actual cookie. Also, like previous reviewer, I added a 1/2 C flour to cookie mix and chilled dough for about 45 minutes. My cookies spread, but not in a bad way - they still looked good. Although, the way they tasted, I doubt anyone would have cared about how they looked! Finally, you can use more than a 1/2 tsp of the topping per cookie - I just heaped it on and still had plenty to make 60 cookies from the single batch. Yummy - this is now offically one of my husband's favorite cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Great cookie! I did add 1/2 cup flour to cookie dough as suggested. I also refridgerated dough for 1 hour and made the balls very small with a deep indent for the filling. They were like balls with a hole in it when I put in the oven. This prevented them from spreading as the other reviewers complained about. Also, I refridgerated the icing too for the same hour. They came out PERFECT, and were not flat at all. They looked like the cute thumbprint cookie and the taste was wonderful, full of complex flavor and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
These are great cookies! I added 1/2 cup of flour to the dough and chilled for 30 minutes and they turned out perfect! They did not run and were the perfect "cookie" texture and looked great! Were a huge hit at my husband's company. Also, I did have alot of filling left, so maybe use only 1/2 next time...these made 4 doz. cookies for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Paris, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I made 2 batches in the same day. Batch #1: made exactly as stated, and put dough in fridge. Cookies spread to 3", and were flat. Batch #2: I significantly cut the amount of filling I added to the cake mix, hoping the cookies wouldn't be so flat and spread so much. No appreciable difference. These taste great -- unique blend of crunchy and chewy. My guests adored them, and asked for the recipe! But beware: they spread a LOT. Even making them in 1" balls yields a 3" cookie. I had a lot of filling left over after Batch #1 and even more with Batch #2 and froze it for I-don't-know-what. The only way I'd improve them would be to somehow make them not as flat. Perhaps adding 50% more coconut and nearly that much more pecans would help bulk them up. Whatever, I highly recommend these. They're addictive: be sure to make more than enough for what you need, because you'll end up eating several while they're still warm from the oven. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
My husband LOVED these and I loved the taste too which is why I gave them 5 stars........but I would only give 2 stars for appearance. I was expecting a cute little thumbprint cookie filled with the coconut/pecan mixture. Instead, the cookie spread out and flattened completely; I even refrigerated the dough prior to baking. Delicious to eat but not so appealing to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I really like these. They are moist (I didn't bake them the whole 10 mins. I baked them about 8mins.) These are a change and are great for coconut lovers. I do belive that store bought filling would be alright but the homemade is so much better. I tinkered with the idea of taking the easy way out and using the store bought and I am glad that I didn't! I ate so many of these! I think I might drizzle a little melted chocolate across the tops of these to fancy them up a little. Otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
MARY210 These cookies are delicious. I was cookie testing this weekend for our Christmas Cookie Exchange. This is it. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Carla, I just want you to know that I have been looking for this recipe for over 15 years and I want to thank you soooo much for posting it on this site!!! I had the original recipe back in 1986 and I lost it due to moving and haven't been able to find it until now. So, Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denice Easter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I brought these to a Christmas party--having never made them before--and guests loved them. I have had several requests for the recipe since then. Very easy, but do not appear to be an "easy" cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Yummy! I did find that I needed to refrigerate the dough a little. Maybe my house was to warm. Before I refrigerated the dough the cookies spread while baking. After they did not as much. Thanks for a great recipe. I will be using this one for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States