German Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These are really yummy! Instead of going through the difficulty of making a German Chocolate cake, I would make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Franklin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I always forget to go back and rate the recipes that I love. THIS IS THE BEST COOKIE EVER!!! Would not change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I thought these cookies were great! I did at about 1/3 cup flour to it. I let it set in refrigerator overnight. No flat cookies here. A little bit crispy on the outside and chewy on the the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baxter Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
It Was OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil Young

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Okay, I'm SO frustrated! I originally found this recipe while I was supposed to be working, and made them several times in my employer's oven. They always turned out fabulous. They looked just like the picture, and tasted wonderful. I scoffed at all you whiny amateurs who couldn't get them right. :) However...baking them in MY oven is a very different story! They go flat, like so many of the complaints I've seen. I've NEVER gotten them to look right at home! It has to be a temperature issue, wouldn't you think? I'm determined to figure this out, because my family and I LOVE these cookies! Meanwhile...to decrease the ugly, I'm using a heart-shaped cookie cutter on the flatties I made tonight. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
The hubby loved these. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I came across this recipe after looking for a German cookie recipe. Duh! I thought these cookies were really good. Yes, they come out flat and chewy if you bake per original directions but I'm not complaining. Might try adding some flour as recommended by other reviewers. They were sweet, chewy and easy to make. I don't think they are 'ugly' as others have stated. Come on what do you expect from chocolate cake mix, coconut and pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
These cookies were just okay. They turned out really flat and I add the extra 1/2 cup flour like others suggested. I don't think I will make these again. Not at all what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIM22871

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I decided my first batch would be done in a mini-muffin pan. I used devil's food mix (YUM!) I didn't add the 1/2c flour, and they were a little "cakey" for my taste. I will make them again as mini-muffins with the 1/2c flour. Thanks for a great recipe for my cookie collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
These cookies taste good, especially the icing, but they aren't that attractive. A couple of tips--be sure, so that your egg mixture doesn't curdle (it's supposed to be smooth)cook it only on medium. Do not be tempted to get it boiling faster by turning up the heat, or you'll have a mess! Also, I made a couple of test cookies since I read the reviews about how bad they turned out, and I decided to press the dough into a mini muffin pan. Fill each muffin space about halfway full, then press a 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon into the center to form the hole. You can then shape the dough around your hole to help get a better look. Fill the hole with the icing mixture, and bake. You'll get cuter cookies that can't spread since they are confined to the muffin cups! These do taste good, and I may use a more chocolatey cake next time for better color & flavor. My brother-in-law (the sole reason I made these) loved them, as he is a huge German chocolate cake fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States