German Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I really hoped these would be great since I love German chocolate cake. The icing portion was delicious, but the cookies were just so-so. They didn't disappear from the cookie jar very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I used a bit less sugar as I was using sweetened coconut, and they turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I have not tried this recipe, but read the reviews. I have a suggestion. I make several types of thumbprint cookies during Christmas, & I always make my "thumb" print AFTER they cook. As soon as my cookie sheet leaves the oven, I set it on my hoosier cabinet, & use my All Clad 1tsp measurer to press the indention into the top of the cookie. I quickly work through all the cookies, making the dent, then start over to make sure it didn't "puff" back up again. Then, I let them cook, & insert the filling for my thumbprints later. I have NEVER had a problem getting a thumbprint cookie to set up using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangoagatha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great recipe. I added the 1/2 cup of flour and rolled the dough into balls before I refrigerated for the hour. Didn't last Long at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These cookies are delish - they have a bit of that cake batter flavor, which is a nice touch. I used devil's food cake mix b/c could not find german chocolate and it turned out fine (any choc mix will work I think). Note: be generous with the dollop of topping you put on each cookie - it sets up fairly well. I disagree with the user who said these are not attractive - I think they look very nice, not sloppy at all - will be going on the "cookie table" at my sister inlaw's wedding next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CaliKC
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I made these per directions and they tasted great but were a little flat, so like everyone else I modified a bit - made the topping as is (cause what else really could it need, it's GREAT). Then used 2 cups (for consistency) of the topping to cake mix, plus 3/4 cup flour, cut melted butter to 1/4 cup, and added 1/2 tsp baking powder. Worked great, and got lots of requests for the recipe. Thanks Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Not sure why so many people have had trouble with these cookies spreading or having to add flour. I made this recipe exactly as written and had no trouble at all. Perhaps people are not paying attention to how much filling to add to the cake mix portion? I didn't get 5 dozen cookies out of it but didn't really try to accurately measure the amount of dough I used either. And though they are not that attractive, German chocolate cake isn't either, so I think if you like German chocolate enough you care more about the taste than the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
My family loved these cookies. I made them pretty much as is...except I only used 1 cup of pecans and 1 cup of coconut because the the nuts and coconut came in 2 cup bags, I decided I would save a cup of each to make another batch! I don't think that made any difference as the cookies were still wonderful. I did add a 1/4 cup of flour per other reviews as I was worried about spread, but I don't think I really needed to. Next time I will not. I think it made my mix too dry, so I added a tablespoon of water to counter the flour I put in. I have a brownie recipe I make that also uses a cake mix, and it seemed to be the same consistency...which is somewhat dry, but moist when baked. Very good, will make just as recipe is posted next time. Thanks Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very yummy as is! Took it to a potluck and was the first thing gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Used other tips and added 1/2 c of flour. Took them to a party and they were a hit. I was asked several times for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States