German Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I had terrible luck with these. When I made the dough it ended up too dry, so I had to add some water which made it very sticky. The cookies ended up flat like everyone stated. These tasted alright, but I will never make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess51725

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These didn;t turn out quite so well for me. They sounded wonderful, but mine were a complete flop. Someday, I might attempt them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I have just found my favorite cookie of all time... Seriously, these are wonderful! I followed the suggestions made by others to add 1/2 c flour to the cookie batter, and they turned out fabulous! Although they're not the prettiest looking cookies, what they lack in appearance is certainly made up by their taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mc Coy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
These were very delicious and chewy, lots of good flavor. I refrigerated the dough as others recommended. They did spread out a bit though, but I'd still make them again. Make sure the balls that you make are small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BunnyD
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Excellent cookie recipe! I loved the convenience of using a cake mix for the majority of the cookie dough. The coconut/pecan topping was actually really easy to make from scratch, and not overly sweet like the canned versions. I added 1/2 cup of flour to the cookie batter as suggested by the other reviewers, and chilled the dough before making the cookies and in between batches - they came out beautifully. My husband loves German Chocolate Cake so I can't wait for him to try these! ** I've made these cookies multiple times and found that added about 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips to the batter makes it even better and brings out more of the chocolate flavor! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Great cookies, they were a big hit... easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Fabulous cookie! Freezes very well and a real crowd pleaser. Thanks for the recipe Carla. I too added the extra flour and refigerated before shaping and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
As long as we don't think of these as traditional thumbprint cookies, I have no problems with them whatsoever. My husband is a german chocolate fiend, and his office requires him to bring his own treats on his birthday, so these make an annual appearance since they are easier to handle than cake. Everyone who tastes them asks for the recipe, thinking they are really difficult to make, but they are so easy and soooo good! I haven't yet tried adding flour to the mixture (which I should be doing anyway since I live at altitude), but I'm going to make a batch this weekend and try it. One complaint: I wish the recipe told how much frosting to put INTO the cake mix, not how much to hold out. My husband and I can't stop snacking on the darn stuff as it cools, so it's always a guess as to how much should go into the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I must say I followed the recipe exactly and made the same exceptions as previous users by adding flour and refrigerated the dough. Well, it did come out as I was rolling them. So, I just took the dough and laid it flat as to make bar cookies. Well, that worked and my family devoured them. They were great as a bar cookie. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Great recipe. As suggested in other ratings, I added a 1/2 cup of flour to the cookie base and refrigerated the dough for 1 hour. I shaped as I would a normal thumbprint cookie and had no problems with the cookie spreading. They look great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States