German Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
These were very delicious and chewy, lots of good flavor. I refrigerated the dough as others recommended. They did spread out a bit though, but I'd still make them again. Make sure the balls that you make are small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BunnyD
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Excellent cookie recipe! I loved the convenience of using a cake mix for the majority of the cookie dough. The coconut/pecan topping was actually really easy to make from scratch, and not overly sweet like the canned versions. I added 1/2 cup of flour to the cookie batter as suggested by the other reviewers, and chilled the dough before making the cookies and in between batches - they came out beautifully. My husband loves German Chocolate Cake so I can't wait for him to try these! ** I've made these cookies multiple times and found that added about 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips to the batter makes it even better and brings out more of the chocolate flavor! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Great cookies, they were a big hit... easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Fabulous cookie! Freezes very well and a real crowd pleaser. Thanks for the recipe Carla. I too added the extra flour and refigerated before shaping and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
As long as we don't think of these as traditional thumbprint cookies, I have no problems with them whatsoever. My husband is a german chocolate fiend, and his office requires him to bring his own treats on his birthday, so these make an annual appearance since they are easier to handle than cake. Everyone who tastes them asks for the recipe, thinking they are really difficult to make, but they are so easy and soooo good! I haven't yet tried adding flour to the mixture (which I should be doing anyway since I live at altitude), but I'm going to make a batch this weekend and try it. One complaint: I wish the recipe told how much frosting to put INTO the cake mix, not how much to hold out. My husband and I can't stop snacking on the darn stuff as it cools, so it's always a guess as to how much should go into the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I must say I followed the recipe exactly and made the same exceptions as previous users by adding flour and refrigerated the dough. Well, it did come out as I was rolling them. So, I just took the dough and laid it flat as to make bar cookies. Well, that worked and my family devoured them. They were great as a bar cookie. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Great recipe. As suggested in other ratings, I added a 1/2 cup of flour to the cookie base and refrigerated the dough for 1 hour. I shaped as I would a normal thumbprint cookie and had no problems with the cookie spreading. They look great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Wow! These cookies are terrific and addictive! Just make sure you read the instructions all the way through before attempting. My topping mixture looked a little curded while cooking, but it still tasted great, so I am not sure if it is supposed to do that or not. Also, I used the pre-chopped "cookie" pecans that were extra-finely chopped. This worked great for the topping and didn't leave any annoyingly large pieces in the actual cookie. Also, like previous reviewer, I added a 1/2 C flour to cookie mix and chilled dough for about 45 minutes. My cookies spread, but not in a bad way - they still looked good. Although, the way they tasted, I doubt anyone would have cared about how they looked! Finally, you can use more than a 1/2 tsp of the topping per cookie - I just heaped it on and still had plenty to make 60 cookies from the single batch. Yummy - this is now offically one of my husband's favorite cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Great cookie! I did add 1/2 cup flour to cookie dough as suggested. I also refridgerated dough for 1 hour and made the balls very small with a deep indent for the filling. They were like balls with a hole in it when I put in the oven. This prevented them from spreading as the other reviewers complained about. Also, I refridgerated the icing too for the same hour. They came out PERFECT, and were not flat at all. They looked like the cute thumbprint cookie and the taste was wonderful, full of complex flavor and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
These are great cookies! I added 1/2 cup of flour to the dough and chilled for 30 minutes and they turned out perfect! They did not run and were the perfect "cookie" texture and looked great! Were a huge hit at my husband's company. Also, I did have alot of filling left, so maybe use only 1/2 next time...these made 4 doz. cookies for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Paris, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States