German Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by vlasprincess
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These turned out divine! I made these for my co-workers and customers where I work, (I'm a bartender) and everyone raved about them. I even got two marriage proposals :) The only thing I added was 1/3 cup of flour to the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Though they are not very pretty, the cookies are delicious. I'm pretty picky when it comes to cookies - they have to be soft and chewy on the inside with a bit of a crisp on the outside - that is exactly what these cookies were. The topping - homemade, always go for homemade if you can, it always tastes better - was the perfect amount of sweetness for the not-too-sweet cookie. Together, the topping and cookie, had a fantastic taste, and yet they still tasted good apart. Will definitely make again - though I'll try and figure out how to make them a little prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
even though we didnt use pecans they were grate! at first i thout it look my dogs poo i loved it way mor than i thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was the best cookie I have ever eaten! I read other reviews and think that they may have made theirs wrong. I had no trouble with them spreading and you do NOT need to add flour. The cake mix does not say to be prepared therefore all you do is add butter to dry cake mix so it is not runny. It is a little hard to shape because the mix is dry but once they bake it all cones together perfect. No need to change a thing! Yummmmmy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I just had these for the first time. A friend made them. WOW! If you like German chocolate, you will love these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I LOVE German Chocolate Cake....actually anything w/ coconut, and these cookies are AWESOME! Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I read the reviews and I added 1/3 c of flour and refrigerated it overnight. I also added chocolate chips into the cookie batter, and I used devil's food cake. The cookies came out perfect, but they are REALLY chocolatey! They were not flat at all either. My boyfriend loves them. Definately making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These are really yummy! Instead of going through the difficulty of making a German Chocolate cake, I would make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Franklin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I always forget to go back and rate the recipes that I love. THIS IS THE BEST COOKIE EVER!!! Would not change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I thought these cookies were great! I did at about 1/3 cup flour to it. I let it set in refrigerator overnight. No flat cookies here. A little bit crispy on the outside and chewy on the the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baxter Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States