German Chocolate Sauerkraut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I have made this for years. Nobody would believe it was sauerkraut! Just yummy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly50

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Stays moist over several days. Was great served with a cherry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
So delicious! I substituted oil and pumpkin puree for the butter and used 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour instead of all white. No one would guess there is sauerkraut in these! I made cupcakes instead and baked them for about 22 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I loved this cake! It was moist and yummy. I substituted the water for coffee to bring out the chocolate. I also washed, drained and cut the sauerkraut very small. Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sasa
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This cake just sounded too weird. So I couldn't help but try it. It was absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and made a Swiss Merengue Buttercream Chocolate Frosting and covered the lot with rolled out Marzipan (I made it for my son's first birthday). Yummy. I pulsed the Sauerkraut in my food processor to make sure it's finely chopped as I had read the reviews about it being a little stringy for some. I then squeezed out any excess brine. Next time i might use a touch more Sauerkraut. And there will definitely be a next time. It is not THE BEST chocolate cake recipe I have ever had, but it is very good and I just love the gimmick of having Sauerkraut in a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
WOW, this really does taste like German Chocolate Cake!! Deffinatly must puree the sauerkraut, but its amazing how it adds to the flavor of the cake but not in a saurekraut way! Will be keeping this one around the house all the time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I found this recipe delicious! My husband Al had requested a German Chocolate cake recipe for his birthday. I made the cake plus another batch of muffins. The only change I would make at this time is to cut down the sugar slightly. I cut down the baking time by about 5-10 minutes because I was using the convection feature on my oven. Also used silicone pans. No problems there. Made a filling with whipping cream, pudding and nuts for the cake and used a chocolate frosting from another recipe. Comments when I passed out the muffins were: delicious! Rate 4.5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I substituted 6 T. flaxseed meal for about a third of the butter. I also added between 1/2 and 3/4 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips along with the sauerkraut. I baked this in a Bundt pan for 45 minutes. It was very nice, but next time I will increase the cocoa a bit and be sure I add the chocolate chips again. This recipe is a real keeper. Even the pickiest eaters in my house had no idea at all that there was sauerkraut in it; they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Love this cake! If you think the sauerkraut taste is a little strong, just rinse it off before chopping it. It adds a nice texture to this cake. The only change I made was substituting applesauce for the butter, which turned out great. This is a very moist cake recipe. I frosted it with the Chocolate Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting on this site - a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States