German Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Thank you for this no-fail fudge recipe for a first time fudge maker! Great taste, turned out perfect - hubby was very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was OK fudge. Have had better. The texture was a little dry and the flavor was definately chocolatey. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This had an excellent flavor and extremely rich. I loved it. My only problem with it was that it was a little gooey, I followed the directions to the letter...I made another type of fudge the same day and it didn't come out like that, so I don't think it was a weather thing. Oh well, messy but yummy will make again. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was a very nice recipe to work with and came together very well. The recipe states to boil 6 min. and for my own edification, I timed it and used a candy thermometer. Temperature hovered just under the soft ball stage at 235 so I let it boil another couple of minutes until it reached 235F. Fudge set up well. Very good flavor. BF and friends at work really enjoyed this. Makes a lot so it's great for making as gifts. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is the first batch of fudge Ive ever attempted to make and it turned out wonderful.. The recipe was SUPER easy to follow and it turned out perfect..my only complaint is that it is a very sweet, rich fudge. If you're a first time fudge maker.. I would highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach8986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is fabulous! I've only made fudge a couple times, and I don't remember it being this good or this easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Extra smooth and creamy. Highly recommend this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Very good fudge! I was worried that it would turn out grainy, but it was very smooth and creamy. The recipe was a tad confusing, but I must have followed it right, because it turned out great. It did take a while to start boiling as other people wrote. Once it was at a pretty good bubbly boil, I boiled it for 5 minutes. Make sure you stir constantly. I had no trouble finding German chocolate. I think I used Bakers. And for the chocolate chips, I used Ghirardeli. I've found that if you use cheap chocolate, it'll taste like cheap chocolate. I also ended up making half with nuts, half without. Both were good. These are a Christmas present for my in-laws, and I'm sure they'll love it! If not, I'll just eat it all! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I just made this earlier today and this was just AWESOME and DELICIOUS!! I have tried to make fudge before and it came out too soft! So ive stayed away from making it unntil this year... my only sujjestion for first time fudge makers is to make sure after you have poored the syrup into the chocolate that you have a helper to hold the HOT bowl for you into the pan, Because it hardens up FAST! And i made a really big mess :) Other then that i followed the recipe egzactly and made sure to consistently stir. Thanks Cathy!!! This will be a holiday fav for years to come... **One other sujjestion I have is to boil for 5 minutes instead of 6 min. I made two batches and the first one got a little dry within 2 days the second batch has stayed moist that I boiled for 5 minutes! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
At completion, the fudge itself tasted so good - but it was wet and mushy. It never hardened up. I looked through all the reviews and this didn't happen to anyone else! I made it Wednesday night and as of Friday morning it is still not "fudgy." I followed the directions perfectly. Hmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States