German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed this (and I'm no fan of German Chocolate cake.) This didn't taste like the GCCs I've had in the past but had a great flavor and took a fraction of the time to prepare. My husband and sons all asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Really good if you want a stronger flavor of maple toast you pecans instead of the added sugar in the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Cantu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
LOOOVVEEEE ITTT!!! First thing, I always hated chocolate cake from I knew myself until one time I decided to try a piece of German Chocolate Cake that was at my work cafe since I heard it was really a moist cake. Can I tell you this cake is even 10 times better!!! I always use the Betty Crocker Super Moist mix with the pudding in the mix, It is the best!! I didn't bother with making the frosting I use the Betty Crocker Rich & Creamy Coconut Pecan frosting which is all German Chocolate Frosing really is, coconut & pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jenro100
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Excellent recipe!!! I followed it exactly and not only was it easy, but incredibly delicious!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Excellent and very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This came out delicious. My only problem was, as another reviewer mentioned, the cake comes out very soft and fluffy. Which is great, except the frosting is thick and heavy, and thus hard to spread on what feels like a delicate surface. Admittedly, I was heavy handed in my coconut and nuts additions, and though I may go lighter on those two ingredients next time, I do still wish the cake itself was a little more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
WoW! I made this for my hubby & he loved it! Thank you.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
It was a very yummy cake but next time i make I think I will put more pecans and coconut in the frosting mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Tyrrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This cake was amazing! I make it into a 2 layer 8" round cake and then doubled the icing. I also used the advice of another review and added 4 tablespoons of brown sugar while thickening the icing. Also, rather than trying to spread the icing on I just poured it right on top of the round cake and it covered the top and sides perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I don't normally use a box mix, but this recipe is easy to make and tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States