German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
My hubby is allergic to pecans so I substitued finely chopped almonds and it turned out great! The second time I made it I increased the amount of coconut, eyeballing it to the desired thickness I was going for. It is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Didn't want to make a layer birthday cake, but my man loves German chocolate cake. This si Super easy, moist, and delicious. I live at altitude, so maybe this is why I had a dip down the center, so had to make sure all the frosting didn't pool there! Haha. Doesn't matter. Still great. I increased the pecans and coconut a bit. Better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoriaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was very delish!! My husband ate three pieces and usually only eats one. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed this (and I'm no fan of German Chocolate cake.) This didn't taste like the GCCs I've had in the past but had a great flavor and took a fraction of the time to prepare. My husband and sons all asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Really good if you want a stronger flavor of maple toast you pecans instead of the added sugar in the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Cantu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
LOOOVVEEEE ITTT!!! First thing, I always hated chocolate cake from I knew myself until one time I decided to try a piece of German Chocolate Cake that was at my work cafe since I heard it was really a moist cake. Can I tell you this cake is even 10 times better!!! I always use the Betty Crocker Super Moist mix with the pudding in the mix, It is the best!! I didn't bother with making the frosting I use the Betty Crocker Rich & Creamy Coconut Pecan frosting which is all German Chocolate Frosing really is, coconut & pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jenro100
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Excellent recipe!!! I followed it exactly and not only was it easy, but incredibly delicious!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Excellent and very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This came out delicious. My only problem was, as another reviewer mentioned, the cake comes out very soft and fluffy. Which is great, except the frosting is thick and heavy, and thus hard to spread on what feels like a delicate surface. Admittedly, I was heavy handed in my coconut and nuts additions, and though I may go lighter on those two ingredients next time, I do still wish the cake itself was a little more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
WoW! I made this for my hubby & he loved it! Thank you.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States