German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I have made this cake MANY times & it's delicious,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This recipe turned out great, but with a couple of caveats. The instructions to melt the German chocolate in the beginning are confusing ("In a small saucepan, heat water and 4 ounces chocolate until melted. Remove from heat and allow to cool")--I usually melt chocolate in a double-boiler, but this seemed to suggest that I melt the chocolate IN the water, not separately, which is what I ultimately did. Also, the amount of frosting made using the recipe (I didn't cut down anything) is barely enough to cover three layers of a cake, plus in between layers. Be prepared to make at least twice as much. Flavor-wise, this recipe was right on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Delicious! I doubled the icing recipe and cooked the cake in a rectangular pan for 32minutes. Once cooled I sliced the cake in half to create two layers. It took a really long time to thicken the icing so after 20minutes I turned the heat to medium while continuing to stir constantly. My husband adores German Chocolate cake so this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Perfect! I used a creamy chocolate frosting recipe instead of the drizzles chocolate sauce. It turned out great! The cake is very light and has great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was fantastic! The only thing is that the icing doesn't thicken on low; heat it up to medium and stir constantly. Otherwise phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensentwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I read some responses citing layers falling apart; Interestingly, my experience may throw some new info out there. Baking at my boyfriend's house where he had only two 9" pans, I bought a 3rd pan which was heavier/thicker than his two. After 25 min bake time, the layer in the new, thicker pan was perfectly done, and after cooling 10 min., turned loose easily. The other 2 didn't seem as fully cooked, since they had not completely pulled free of the pan edge. I cooked them another 2 min. Still not fully free of the edge, but fearful of overcooking, I took them out. After 10 min, neither turned loose as well as the layer from the heavier pan. One tore out a single chunk, while the other fell apart completely and was not salvageable for use as a "layer", but excellent for sampling. Perhaps I should has given the 2 thinner pans a full 30 min bake time to 'crust up' the bottom and sides. As for taste, fabulous! Akin to quality choc ice cream. Curiously smooth and creamy taste even before the frosting. Well worth the scratch effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This recipe is great! It was the first German Chocolate cake I've ever made, and it was so rich and moist, and was so much better than going out and buying one at the store. I followed the advice from the reviews and my cake came out perfect! I increased the portions for my topping, added a little more chocolate to the batter, and threw in some corn starch to the filling to thicken it up. The final merengue added to the batter made the cake amazingly fluffy! Anyways, this is definitely a recipe to keep. Good luck to all you experimentalists out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I think the recipe is great. The baking time could be shortened though, I baked mine for 23 minutes and the sides were a little scorched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This cake recipe was dry and just ok for the work involved, however i am giving it 4 stars because it was the BEST german chocolate cake frosting ever! I had rave reviews on the frosting at the birthday party i served it at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rye, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deborah_mmx
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
The only thing I had to change was to turn the heat up to medium to get the frosting to thicken enough. However, from personal choice i turned the temperature down to 315F and added a few minutes of cooking time to lessen the amount it domes on top and gets crispy on the edges. Everyone loved it though and it turned out absolutely amazing. I absolutely recommend trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah_mmx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States