German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This recipe is great! I've never had a cake behave better, absolutely no problems at all. It was very moist and came right out of the pan. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I took another reviewer's advice and cut the cooking time down to 20 minutes. I'm glad that I did, because that's really all it needed. The amount of filling was just enough to cover the top and between the layers, so if you wanted to put it on the entire cake, you're definitely going to need to make more. Otherwise, just follow everything as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica McRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa42
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Mine came out dryer than expected. Next time ill cook it for less. Did not make the chocolate to go on top, frosting is sweet enough, but I did double the frosting and added some vanilla pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Keystone Heights, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My oven is 60cm and couldn't make three layers so I made it with two layers and it was perfect. Made it twice and won't stop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
My husband and I had company one special Sunday evening. I had never made a scratch cake, but had experienced my mother's German Chocolate Cake every Thanksgiving and Christmas. I once had her recipe for the frosting, but no longer have it, and since she is gone, cannot get it from her. I typed German Chocolate Cake into my search engine, and up popped allrecipes.com, with the recipe for the cake. I was so excited!! One thing that really helped me was to have the video, since I am not familiar with all of the cooking terms. It helped me to see that my batter looked as it should. The cake was a huge success!! Everyone loved it. I called it the five hour cake because that is how long it took me to make it--this first time. I am sure that it will not take as long next time. I must agree, though, with the voice on the video: It is a very involved cake!!One couple who attendeded the special Sunday always invites people to Christmas dinner, where they have a spread of delicious food, including deserts. She even contributed her dressing one year to my dinner. Last Sunday, she told me that she still thought about the cake (about three Sundays later) and said that it tasted better than the German Chocolate that she had made; she asked about the recipe I used. I told her the website, and then was proud to say that I could contribute a German Chocolate cake to her dinner. It is a five-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
It was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ali
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
My man has a tradition of German chocolate cake in his family, and he wanted it for his birthday. It's a complicated cake to make, but worth it. Everyone ate every bite, so I consider that a success. I am not married to this recipe, but I will use it with modifications. Next time, I hope to achieve a more moist and less crumbly cake. I'll double the topping too. I cut the hole in the middle, so we could enjoy a fresh piece together, as his birthday party was the next night. I put a candle on it, and it was romantic.... still crumbly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Excellent! It was, admittedly, more steps and work than I usually put into cake baking, but it was well worth it. Everyone agreed that it was exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have baked German Chocolate Cakes for years. As I sit here and watch the sides of the cake fall off I wish I had stuck to my recipe instead of trying this one using cake flour. Now I know why the glaze on the sides is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I followed the cake recipe as is and it was very good, light and moist but rich at the same time. However, I did notice sticking with mine. The first one I tried to take out completely fell apart, which I have never experienced before with my pans. So mine ended up being a two tier cake as I let my other two cakes sit for another half hour and then painstakingly take out. As for the frosting, mine turned out extremely runny and had I had enough time to make more I would've thrown it out altogether. Listen to me and others when I say to bring it to a boil and then let it cool. I followed the directions and did mine on low for a solid 25 minutes and it was still almost unusable. Tasty, but way too runny. All in all, with a few tweaks I will definitely make again, if nothing else than for the awesome chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SistrWmn20
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I made cupcakes instead of cake. Also, on a previous suggestion, I toasted the pecans and coconut. You really don't need double the frosting when making cupcakes so I had a ton of extra. I have never gotten so many compliments from one dessert before in my life! As my coworker put it: "WOW, now that's one righteous cupcake! The flavor is rich and buttery and makes my taste buds dance an Irish jig in delight! The cupcake top has the right amount of crunch to add contrast to the moist softness of the cake. This is quite possibly the best German Chocolate cake recipe I've ever had!" That about sums it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States