German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by wendeeB
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Made this for hubby's birthday. he is a huge german chocolate cake fan, and i usually just use boxed cake mix. NEVER AGAIN. The first time I made this cake it was time consuming, but 100% worth it. I read the previous reviews and followed them. * 20 minutes only bake time * spray Pam and floured the entire non-stick pan, then added parchment to the bottom. Never had any problems with sticking. * Doubled the icing recipe. * Icing recipe took 30 minutes on medium low/low to thicken. Removed pan from heat, let rest for 20-30 minutes then added coconut and pecans which had been toasted. I did not follow the exact amt of recommended coconut and pecans. I added them until I achieved the consistence I desired. I wrapped the cakes in wax paper and refrigerated them overnight, along with the icing. Brought them all to room temp (south florida room temp :) before icing the layers the next day. My kids loved this too. Absolutely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendeeB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Izza1
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Made this cake for my husband's birthday. German Chocolate Cake is his favorite. I made chocolate buttercream to ice the cake and put the filling in between the layers and on top. Made Marzipan covered cherries dipped in ganache and almonds. He took it to work with him and it was a hit. No leftovers so I didn't get to taste the cake but I did taste the filling and the frosting. It was yummo! Thanks. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izza1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
My husband said that I knocked it out of the park with this recipe!!! His favorite cake is German Chocolate. I have never made a homemade cake from scratch before, but wanted to, for his birthday. He absolutely loved it, and although I have never been a fan of German Chocolate before, now I love this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Made this cake last night. I'll be making this again and again. It is fabulous. Double the frosting and the chocolate drizzle is the only suggestion I can make. Otherwise it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Only made the cake and not the filling, and found cake to be wonderfully fluffy, moist and delicious. My mother needed a cake to put under some peanut butter frosting she was dying to try, and this worked perfectly. Mild/yummy enough for my mother who isnt a huge fan of chocolate, and enough flavor to complement the peanut butter! Notes: I was careful not to over mix, and because I only separated batter into 2 pans I did cook for about 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobby Joe
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made this cake for a birthday party with some very tough critics and they loved it. Followed the directions all the way except I shaved Hersheys chocolate on the top instead of melting and drizzling. (first time I made this cake I used All Purpose flour and it was not nearly as impressive as this time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is, without a doubt, the best cake ever! I toasted the coconut and pecans as someone recommended, and it was even better. This cake will be in my recipe box forever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Amazing cake, but the frosting gave me an immense amount of trouble. I just didnt know how thick it was supposed to get (without letting it burn). By reading from the other peoples' experiences, I can see that it took much longer to cook the frosting than was expected. I did let it set in the fridge and that helped, but once at room temp again, it got a bit runny. It still tastes great, but being the perfectionist I am, I am not happy with the presentation. I think I will look for a new frosting recipe next time, but the cake was fluffy and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carlo's Kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
The cake was delicious! I accidently bought mint chocolate... IT WAS AMAZING. I think it even tasted better the normal chocolate. I had a hard time with the icing but it turned out really great! It was a big hit with everyone of my family! Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlo's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I have made this cake MANY times & it's delicious,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States